Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2008, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is Anyone Using a Fuse?

I tried to be very careful when soldering everything together, but has anyone put a fuse on the 12V feed to their unit in case of a short?

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-02-2008, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central New Mexico
Posts: 18

Bun - '02 Ford Focus ZTS
90 day: 31.3 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I power my unit from a cigarette lighter cord with a built-in fuse.

I recommend that everyone have a fuse or other protective device on the power wire to the guino.

I think it's also important to protect against wiring shorts. I put 10k resistors on my signal wires to protect the vehicle's wiring against shorts caused by me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
wagonman76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,006

Red Car - '89 Chevrolet Celebrity CL 4 door
Team Chevy
90 day: 36.47 mpg (US)

Winter Wagon - '89 Pontiac 6000 LE Wagon
90 day: 28.26 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Mine is connected to the courtesy circuit that is already protected by a 20A fuse.

But I wonder what would be the proper size fuse to use on the guino. Something smaller I would imagine.
__________________

Winter daily driver, parked most days right now


Summer daily driver
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 65
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was told that it operates at .5 amps and that my 26 gauge wire is rated up to 2 amps. So I intend to put a 1 amp fuse ahead of my power.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
The fuse protects the wiring, not the component. As axaday found out, he was fortunate to already be on a fuse protected circuit, so a fuse there would have probably been redundant (depending on the gauge of his hookup wire).

There is really no end to the ways to build it incorrectly and you cannot defend against them all. Adding a transistor can go wrong, so adding a fuse is not a zero risk operation. The safest bet is to take your time and try and build it correctly, and take tons of continuity readings to make sure things are connected where they should be and not where they aren't, or at least make sure your injector/vss leads have at least 100kohms between them and ground/positive, and that there isn't a dead short from positive to ground anywhere before or after the regulator.

Actually, those might be a good couple "sanity checks" with an ohmeter that could be made into a wiki page that should improve your odds of not totally messing something up.

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric car conversion: Project ForkenSwift MetroMPG Fossil Fuel Free 1041 07-28-2014 09:19 AM
Kill switch how-to bbjsw10 DIY / How-to 195 05-20-2014 01:27 PM
Kill switch for 88-95 Honda Civic/CRX/DelSol AndrewJ DIY / How-to 40 06-18-2012 03:13 AM
help W/ Remote Kill Switch Idea 93hatchDX DIY / How-to 21 07-31-2008 03:46 PM
DIY - Hardwired iPod SVOboy DIY / How-to 0 11-18-2007 03:23 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com