Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-27-2014, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Bed toolbox as partial tonneau cover

Hi, first post from a newbie here but I had an idea and wondered if anyone had ever tried it. I've been reading posts here for a bit and learning quite a bit, mostly on pickup trucks since I have one; thank you all for the great site. Looking at the benefits of even a 1/3 length partial tonneau cover on a pickup truck I was curious if anyone had tried moving a bed toolbox to the rear, against the tailgate, and checked the FE? Sure, it cuts cargo access but if it got even 5% better mileage at 65-70 mph it would be essentially free money for a lot of people for very little effort, and the box could be shifted back to the front when needed. Could even fab a wedge top in the spirit of aerohead's early 1/2 tonneau cover for that last bit of gain.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 07-27-2014, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
(:

Blue - '93 Ford Tempo
Last 3: 27.29 mpg (US)

F150 - '94 Ford F150 XLT 4x4
90 day: 18.5 mpg (US)

Sport Coupe - '92 Ford Tempo GL
Last 3: 69.62 mpg (US)

ShWing! - '82 honda gold wing Interstate
90 day: 33.65 mpg (US)

Moon Unit - '98 Mercury Sable LX Wagon
90 day: 21.24 mpg (US)
Thanked 3,555 Times in 2,218 Posts
That's an interesting idea, well worth a try and easy for someone with instrumentation to test.

Old 07-27-2014, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker