Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2008, 09:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 18

MR2 Turbo - '93 Toyota MR2 Turbo
90 day: 28.28 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can I use 6-conductor RJ11 cord for Spiffie kit??

My spiffie.org MPGuino kit is on the way and should be here this week. I am having a hard time finding a nice black rj11 cord that is 4-conductor. Does anyone know if I can use a regular telephone cord that is 6-conducter because those are easier to find locally? If not does anyone know a good place to get a 4-conductor black rj11 cord? Thanks.

ERIK

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 12-01-2008, 02:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
McTimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nyack, NY
Posts: 310

Maverick - '22 Ford Maverick XLT
90 day: 44.07 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
It depends on whether your kit comes with a 4 pin connection, or a 6 pin connection. If it's a 4 pin, then a 6 pin wire might not physically fit in the socket. You might be able to trim off the ends on the wire to make it fit if that's the case though.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 18

MR2 Turbo - '93 Toyota MR2 Turbo
90 day: 28.28 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The kit says it uses 4-conductor wire. But from my reasearch it seems like rj11 connectors are all the same. But the wire is different. So I was thinking that a 6-conductor might plug into the rj11 jack with the kit and just have 2 wires that arent being used.

ERIK
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ex-lurker
 
i_am_socket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 571

Skeeter - '05 Toyota Corolla LE
90 day: 35.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
This might help : LINK
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
McTimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nyack, NY
Posts: 310

Maverick - '22 Ford Maverick XLT
90 day: 44.07 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Looks like you're absolutely correct. I didn't realize they were the same size physically. So yes, you can use a 6 conductor wire, you'll just have 2 wires that don't get used.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 05:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 18

MR2 Turbo - '93 Toyota MR2 Turbo
90 day: 28.28 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just FYI for anyone reading this thread. I am using a regular phone cord. You just need to make sure it has atleast 4 wires in it. Alot I found around my house only had 2 wires. I ended up finding a nice black phone cord with 4 wires at Home Depot. Works very well.

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sterling Kit Car cfg83 Aerodynamics 33 12-11-2012 03:50 AM
DIY - Front Camber Kit SVOboy DIY / How-to 1 12-05-2008 12:52 PM
Diesel electric kit car, anyone? R. Q. Riley's latest takes shape (and looks good!) MetroMPG EcoModding Central 11 10-07-2008 02:52 PM
Newbee with hydrogen kit mechanic999 EcoModding Central 20 05-27-2008 02:17 AM
electric bike kit - hub motor bennelson For Sale 6 05-19-2008 09:52 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com