Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2013, 08:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
dlb
EcoModding Lurker

civic vx: TPS/TAS test?

my wife's VX generally runs very well but it occasionally will hesitate for a second or so, usually on acceleration. also, i find it tough to maintain a constant cruising speed because once up to speed, i can feel the engine switch to lean burn and then the car slowly loses about 10 km/h of speed. when i try to give it light throttle to stay at cruising speed, i get no response until i've put the pedal way down. at this point i feel it kick out of lean burn and accelerate pretty hard, and if i hold the pedal constant it will accelerate way past the cruising speed i was originally at, and trying to attain again.

i'm a very careful driver and can manage to drive it fairly steadily but the occasional hesitation and slowing/surging is definitely noticeable. i've looked in the FSM and it pretty much says if there's no CEL, there's no problem, but i want to know if there's some test for the throttle position sensor, or throttle angle sensor as it's called in the FSM. anyone have any suggestions?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 08-26-2013, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX
Unplug the O2 sensor, you will most likely find that the problem goes away, at that point buy a new O2 sensor, make sure it's a 5 wire sensor with the right plug, Denso or NTK, it might be close to $200 and if it's not then there is a good chance that it's not the right one.
Old 08-26-2013, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Lean and Mean - '98 Honda Civic HX
Team Honda
90 day: 46.69 mpg (US)