Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2009, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 328
Thanks: 11
Thanked 79 Times in 54 Posts
Send a message via MSN to markweatherill
Closed loop / open loop bogging down...

My little Nissan 1.5 has just enough power for most situations.
But when I'm giving it more than about 3/4 throttle I can tell when it goes into open loop because there's a dramatic drop in engine power.
If I ease off so that it drops back into closed loop, the power comes back.
I can't do much about the transition to open loop (although I'm investigating that zener diode mod for the TPS) but what could be causing that sudden drop off in power, apart from general age of the engine and components?

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-11-2009, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silly-Con Valley
Posts: 1,468
Thanks: 190
Thanked 256 Times in 193 Posts
I would guess an overly-rich mixture that the O2 sensor is compensating for, at least to some extent. You could confirm that with a Wide-Band O2 meter on a decent dyno, or potentially if you have access to a WBO2 that you can temporarily install in the car.

It could be some other cause, and not related to going open-loop. There are other things that depend on load, like ignition timing and so on. (Depends on what sort of engine management/fuel system/spark system is on the car, as well.)

-soD
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2009, 04:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 328
Thanks: 11
Thanked 79 Times in 54 Posts
Send a message via MSN to markweatherill
The diode mod on the TPS didn't do anything. This engine must calculate when to go into open loop by RPM and airflow.
I'm wondering if a bad fuel pressure regulator could cause this?
eg if fuel pressure is low, during closed loop the ECU can compensate but in open loop it's unable to do so, hence a noticeable lack of power?
I don't have a fuel pressure gauge but I have a spare regulator I can try.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silly-Con Valley
Posts: 1,468
Thanks: 190
Thanked 256 Times in 193 Posts
Measuring is almost always better than parts swapping. I'd seriously consider checking with a gauge rather than throwing a new reg at it and seeing what happens.

-soD

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project: making a permanent Metro Kammback extension MetroMPG Aerodynamics 256 09-11-2013 05:22 PM
My car is too eager to switch to open loop RobertSmalls EcoModding Central 3 01-23-2009 01:51 PM
Geo Metro rear windows, open or closed? C3Killer Aerodynamics 1 08-06-2008 10:34 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com