Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2009, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Display Problem

Hi all,

The display and menus seem to work just fine with the usb hooked up to my computer. But with the gauge hooked up to my car through the RJ11 I get nothing, no display or backlight.

I probed with a voltage meter and I'm getting 5v to pin2 of the LCD. I've got some more probing to do, but I wanted to see if anyone has any advice on this issue.

Thanks

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 06-02-2009, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
McTimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nyack, NY
Posts: 309

BMW - '97 BMW 318ti
Team BMW
90 day: 32.45 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Check the voltages on the voltage regulator (the black square with 3 pins). Make sure one pin is ground, one is 12V, and one is 5V. And, make sure the regulator isn't getting too hot - it should be warm, but if it burns your finger, then there's a short somewhere.

Does the power LED turn on when it's in the car?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I probed the regulator and that seems to be fine; correct voltages and not too hot. No LED when plugged into the car.

I plan to probe for any other possible shorts when I get some free time.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
O2 Sensor problem Need help! Curly1 DIY / How-to 1 05-23-2009 07:50 PM
No display on MPGuino LCD, just backlight Wingmn OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 27 02-06-2009 07:27 PM
Been to the Auto Show, Pics of Mercedes Concept and Tesla Display Sean T. The Lounge 7 01-28-2009 01:12 AM
Can you change the scanguage display "rate" default to FAST? blackjackel Instrumentation 8 08-27-2008 03:09 PM
Analogue MPG display using an OLED? ecoxantia Instrumentation 2 08-22-2008 09:23 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com