EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Motorcycles / Scooters (https://ecomodder.com/forum/motorcycles-scooters.html)
-   -   diy elio rwd enclosed trike ideas (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/diy-elio-rwd-enclosed-trike-ideas-30144.html)

coop8070 10-02-2014 10:59 PM

diy elio rwd enclosed trike ideas

Hello all, I didn't know what forum to post this in. I have a 97 600cc ninja I want to convert to a fully enclosed rwd reverse trike. the first mile of my commute is a gravel road so I have stopped using my ninja on rainy days and I live in Washington. I have no welding experience but have wanted to learn for a long time. I would love some points in the right direction.

stiletto2 10-03-2014 01:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by coop8070 (Post 448654)
Hello all, I didn't know what forum to post this in. I have a 97 600cc ninja I want to convert to a fully enclosed rwd reverse trike. the first mile of my commute is a gravel road so I have stopped using my ninja on rainy days and I live in Washington. I have no welding experience but have wanted to learn for a long time. I would love some points in the right direction.

You could try this as something to start with and then improve and add to:
Homebuilt Trike: the Xzilarator

I was thinking about using a Honda Silverwing scooter as the basis for one of these. But it would probably work better for that if it were built slightly reduced in size.

coop8070 10-03-2014 02:47 AM

I like the idea, but I am thinking more like a single seat or front back seating.

elhigh 10-03-2014 09:13 AM

Tandem seating will allow you to really reduce your frontal area.

Something more along the lines of the Riley Tri-Magnum, I think, would suit the performance potential of the Ninja, but it's a bit on the heavy side for such a modest drivetrain. It's not that I think the engine isn't up to the task, I'm sure it is. But it might cook the clutch in short order.

Grant-53 10-04-2014 02:29 PM