Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2010, 11:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Bus - '94 Ford School Bus huge

Stupid - '01 Chevy Blazer LS
90 day: 21.38 mpg (US)

hawk - '00 Honda Superhawk
Experiment up and coming...

So,
I did introduce myself, but for the sake of context...

I am a HS teacher in Wisconsin that makes biodiesel (or did, more on this later) with his students in automotives while the chem teacher handles the chemistry end of the business. We were using the Bio (produced from our schools horrifying lunch room) and producing some decent product that was being used by our grounds crew. We made 3 batches that they used, the first was our first, and had some issues. The second had no issues, the third was awesome, we made a fourth and fifth that were better yet. The fourth went to a trucking firm in trade for pure soy oil, and the fifth sat in wait for use. The quality was awesome, perfect by astm and water testing. When the spring came, the grounds crew said no to batch 5, on the premise that the first batch had problems. Words happened, and it became the belief that if we wanted to make this work, we had to make some things happen on our own. 5th batch went in a 2004 Duramax at 100 PERCENT!! No problems! So, we decided some things...

First, the grounds crew is the grounds crew at our school for a reason.
Second, relying on anyone else other than yourself is...you get the idea.
Third, we need our own vehicle, and now!

SO, here is our plan, experiment, and problems: