Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2012, 04:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

The Soob - '83 Subaru GL Wagon
New to the game

My name's Eli, and I live in the PNW, in the north eastern part of Washington State.

I'm new to the ecomodding scene, I recently picked up a 1983 Subaru wagon for 480 bucks with no exhaust and some electrical problems, but it's now roadworthy. It only has 93,xxx miles on it. FWD 5 speed, EA81 engine.

It still needs some things to be efficient, like an O2 sensor as it's currently running without one and idling at 1500 rpms. I've gotten over 150 miles on just over a quarter tank, which is a lot better than my other wagon does. I'll get a real MPG number when I use a little more gas.

I've been commuting 25 miles to work each way(and every day), and I have every intention of ecomodding it up on this wagon. Paid straight cash and I don't care about the resale value.

Definitely want to do at least a partial kammback and skirts as soon as I get some decent materials. I may just use cardboard for starters, but the weather here has been crazy lately.

Pictures soon. Lots of mods soon, too.

Has anyone here modded an old Subaru?

Eli

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-06-2012, 05:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

The Truck - '02 Nissan GU Patrol ST
Not me, but Welcome on board
No one here has ever done anything on my model either and I'm moving forward steadily and getting some good improvements.
Go for it,
But do heaps of study and reading to try to get your head around how it all connects together, in my short time here I would say i've done at least 100hrs actual reading and searching & probably same again just measuring, sitting and looking at the vehicle to get an idea on how to put it all together.