Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2016, 05:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

green horn from iowa.

hey everyone..im a newbie to the site so i apologize if im posting this question in the wrong place..but i have a 2008 eclipse w-the code po421.now i know that it is an o2 sensor and i believe its in bank 2 but when i went to order one i was asked 'front or rear' and 'upstream or downstream'..can i know which one it is by the code given or do i need to get specific readings from each individual sensor.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 05-20-2016, 10:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Rat Racer

Al the Third, year four - '13 Honda Fit Base
Team Honda
90 day: 42.9 mpg (US)
Thanked 1,922 Times in 1,246 Posts
Welcome!

That's actually a cat code.

The problem with codes and regular people is that codes don't tell you what's actually wrong. The O2 sensors are telling you something's amiss which could be the cat, the O2 sensor or something fuel related, but at least you've got a starting point of where to look.

The problem with O2 sensors and regular people is that the computers don't see things the way we do. They deal with ones and zeroes, and they ask "which bank?" and then "sensor 1 or 2?" Left, right, up, down, none of them matter because the ECM doesn't care where the sensors are located, it's just doing math to tweak combustion. If it gets numbers it doesn't like, it throws a code and moves on with its life. Bank 1 is bank 1, whether it's one side of a V8 or it's the only bank your inline 4 has.