Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2010, 11:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

hello new to ecomodding

Hi

I am new to ecomodding and somewhat new to hypermiling. I own 2 Hondas (a 1985 Honda CRX si and a 1989 honda civic HB). Grateful for this site as it really has become an obsession! Was hoping someone could direct me to a thread or get input on a comparison of when to simply coast in neutral versus shutting the engine off and coasting. I have heard that the start up of the engine consumes more fuel than simply coasting in neutral and let the VTEC do its thing. The question is about the threshold point ie: if I am in a rolling hilly area and only able to coast maybe 1/2 a mile is it more efficient to simply leave the engine on or shut off). I realize this is somewaht ambiguous and a myriad of factors but, really looking for general guidelines or where this topic has been discussed. I think its obvious that if I am able to coast down a gentle grade for 10-20 miles it is more efficient to shut off. Really just looking for that threshold point. Hopefully I was clear on what I am asking.

T.I.A. 70flyingv

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 07-25-2010, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hypermiling rookie

Opel Corsa B - '96 Opel Corsa 1.2 8V
90 day: 47.27 mpg (US)

VW Bora 1.6 16V - '02 Volkswagen Bora/Jetta
90 day: 35.84 mpg (US)
well , first of all, Welcome !

Here's some topics to have a look at:

Coasting experiment: engine off VS. engine idling - MetroMPG.com

http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...not-11613.html

Both your cars are manual, right ? ( a little silly, i know , but I had to ask )

"It has been my observation that most people get ahead during the time that others waste" Henry Ford
Old 07-27-2010, 01:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Eoc