Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now
 


Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2011, 12:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 356

Silver Turtle - '02 Ford Focus Zx3
90 day: 38.83 mpg (US)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Question Help with Cruise Control and LED taillights!

I added LED taillights to my car and now my Audiovox CCS-100 cruise control doesn't work anymore because it can't see the rear lights.

I added a 5 pin relay like this;

30 - Purple wire from CC
87a Ground to battery (joined with 86)
87 - Constant 12v from battery
86 Ground to battery (joined with 87a)
85- To brake pedal switch

...BUT as soon as I turned on the car all the wiring from the + and the ground melted and made tons of smoke... so something has to be wrong.

Does anyone know how its supposed to be wired? Before the LED's it worked fine, the purple wire from the cruise control was directly wired to the brake pedal switch and all worked.

HELP!

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 06-12-2011, 05:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: US
Posts: 975

Chief - '06 Pontiac Grand Prix
90 day: 25.8 mpg (US)

SF1 - '12 Ford Fiesta S
90 day: 22.87 mpg (US)
Thanks: 189
Thanked 227 Times in 177 Posts
If you have separate brake bulbs you may be able to just put them back in and get CC to work while retaining the LEDs in other locations.


PS Do you get hyper flash from the turn signals?
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 04:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 65

Buddy - '94 Acura Integra GSR
90 day: 28.21 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Your Cruiser Control is probably grounded to your brake light. Why dont you just splice in the LED light into the existing wires instead of onto a relay? Good Luck.
- Aaron
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 01:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Independence, KY
Posts: 602

Blue Meanie - '02 Volkswagon Golf TDI
TEAM VW AUDI Group
90 day: 48.52 mpg (US)

Wife's car - '05 WV Passat TDI

Rudy - '94 Chevy C2500
Thanks: 89
Thanked 46 Times in 43 Posts
Most Cruise control systems will turn off if your brake lights are out so you will know to check them.

Why did you use a relay for your lights and cruise control?
Did you have it hooked up this way before the change to LEDs and did it work?

To me it looks like when you press the brake the cruise control gets connected to the 12v so if you need it to have that 12v to be on then you have 87 and 87a reversed. If to function it needs to see ground and should not receive voltage from that side you may have killed your relay or cruse control.

__________________
I move at the speed of awesome.


"It's not rocket surgery!" -MetroMPG
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com