Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2010, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
the crazy guy in back

Cressy - '90 Toyota Cressida

Pickup - '91 Toyota Pickup base
Send a message via AIM to kamesama980
hiya

Hi my name is Russ and I've lost track of how many car forums I'm on...oh wait that's tomorrow night. Joined up here for the MPGuino dojabber. I've been fixing and 'improving' cars as long as I've had them (~8 yrs). I decided to do it officially and go to school for the all-important piece of paper and after 7+ years in 2 fields at 3 schools, I'm currently a junior at SIU carbondale. I like going fast and having fun as well as efficiency but mostly the latter gets done since I'm still a broke college student. I don't go crazy for economy, more of a save it so IF I want to have fun I can.

My garage (apt parking lot) has:
-1990 Toyota Cressida. 3L I6 7MGE (the one that blows head gaskets) that I rebuilt at school last year and a manual swap. I had the head and block both shaved enough to improve compression, metal head gasket, ARP head studs, .020" over, cleaned up the exhaust ports, fixed the missing cooling port, used a turbo block for piston oil squirters, nixed the AC, cold start injector, and EGR and used the throttle body from a turbo motor to delete the EGR vacuum line ports. 25 miles after installation the trans input shaft bearing sounds like gravel so it's at mom's house in the garage also has wheels, ~1" lower, and a tired LSD from a Supra. was around 18c/24h mpg with the old engine. no idea with the new one, should be a little better.