Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2011, 02:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
The PRC.

Rear Spats of Glory

I'm interested in getting a pair of rear wheel covers or spats done but need some info on attaching - basically terminology for the bits I need I think - I work in IT so real world engineering is a dark art

I don't want to drill any holes so I checked the rear wheelarch and found that there is a "lip" on the inside all the way round. I would like to fit a small "U" shaped clamp or fixing to this, onto which I can then attach fastenings for the spats themselves - probably Correx (UK name for Coroplast) with a thin aluminium bar to provide support - something like this

with maybe some kind of tape or cover for the gaps / borders.

The other reason for no drilling is that I need to remove these for servicing (I have a warranty) and if they last for the MOT (safety inspection) in about 2 years time. And of course I hate drilling into a car body where we use salt to remove ice from our roads.

What are those parts called ?

Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 10-27-2011, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding spendthrift

WindedWarrior - '12 Ford Focus SE
90 day: 33.46 mpg (US)
First off, if you drill into your car just coat the inside of the fresh hole with touchup paint effectively sealing it. Secondly, how big is your lip? How do your wheel well plastics attach? (the covers inside your wheel well that dampen sound and protect against debree)? On my wheel wells the inserts have simple plastic body clips that snap into place. I would suggest mounting your wheel covers to those body clips.

"May the wind always be at your back and the sun always upon your face. May the wings of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars."
~ Boston George
Old 10-27-2011, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
The PRC.

Sorry, no drilling. Nope. None.