Go Back   EcoModder Forum > AltModding > Saving@Home
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2008, 02:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Look ma I can coast

Sethro's 626 - '88 Mazda 626 LX 5 door
90 day: 36.27 mpg (US)
How much for solar panels?

Yeah big range of possibilities here. I'm curious if any of you have put them on your house, how much it ran, where did you source parts, and was it easy?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-25-2008, 01:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

are you talking PV panels or hot water ?

i have no 1st hand experience with any of them, but, me too, I am in the market for a basic set of a solar hot water system.

here`s a good starting point -

http://www.top50-solar.de/en/

some sites there even have whole books on the subject for downloads as pdf's! (if you cant find them drop me a line)

I hope we can get a good discussion going - as there seems to be some reasonably priced (around 1000bux) autosyphon systems available.

thx
al
Old 04-25-2008, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Awesomeness personified

Harold - '94 Honda Civic CX
90 day: 54.51 mpg (US)

Margot - '08 Surly Big Dummy
Send a message via AIM to AndrewJ
Solar H2O could be done for a very low cost if you're all resourceful-like. Hell, you could probably do it for nearly free if you knew where to look.

Photovoltaics will probably run you a minimum of $4400 per KW.

Old 04-26-2008, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewJ View Post

Photovoltaics will probably run you a minimum of $4400 per KW.

true - hopefully things change over the next 2-5 yrs ... there´s interesting new technology out there -> "printed" solar cells

http://www.nanosolar.com

cheers
al
Old 04-27-2008, 11:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX