Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2008, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
SirKeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 111

GeRide - '89 Geo Metro *XFi
90 day: 54.26 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Idle Speed Adjustment '89 Metro

How might I go about adjusting the idle speed in my 89 metro.

After cleaning out all of the blockages in the tubes (see other thread) and replacing the PCV - my engine seems to now be idling faster. I suspect that at some point someone adjusted the idle speed not knowing the engine was being starved for O2... and now that air is flowing properly, the mix ratio is jacked up.

I tried to find instructions in my Chiltons, but as y'all know already - Chilton's blows and I can't seem to find any instructions.

I want to slow the idle down a bit so I'm not wasting so much gas at idle!!

Thanks!

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 05-23-2008, 01:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
nut
 
Coyote X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southen West Virginia
Posts: 654

Metro XFi - '93 Geo Metro XFi Convertible
90 day: 62.17 mpg (US)

DR650SE - '07 Suzuki DR650SE
90 day: 55.26 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 26 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Coyote X
On the throttle body there is a black cap covering the idle screw. the screw is facing up so it is easy to adjust once you find it. Loosen the jam nut and turn the screw to get it right then tighten the jam nut back. It is easy once you find it
__________________


  Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModder
 
SirKeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 111

GeRide - '89 Geo Metro *XFi
90 day: 54.26 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks. just checking... but my 89 has the throttle body right? in my chiltons it says that mine is the EFI which they have in a different category from the throttle body models (think they call it TFI or something like that).

just wanted to make sure we were on the same page. thanks coyote!!!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 11:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
larryn2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: monticello , MS
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
some have a screw on the fire wall. it's just 2 hoses and a black tube with a screw. right behind the TBi unit. it only works as a fast idle adjustment.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2008, 01:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Earth
Posts: 303

Pushrod - '02 Chevrolet Cavalier
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 4 Posts
Most computer controlled cars have ECU-driven electronic actuators (like stepper motors or solenoids) to control idle. If you've got a stepper, simply unplug it when it's in a position you like. If it's a solenoid, you may have to rig up throttle bypass hoses to get the idle speed you want.

I can't lower my idle below 900 because it will oscillate wildly due to the bouncing of the air to fuel mixture. There are significant fuel savings to be had by lowering the idle. It helps at stops, engine-on P&G and neutral coasting. It's easier to do on some cars than others.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
high idle

I have a 98 Chevy Metro with a 3 cly 5 speed trany I just bought it and it idles a little slow when started, then when it's warmed up it idles way to high. Is the a adjustment somewhere or do I need a whole new throttle body.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 09:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TB adjustment

adjusting the TPS, what's the TPS and where is it?
I took off my 1996 TB and was looking it over and where the Throttle cable attaches to the lever that is spring loaded there is a black round knob with a screw end. what is that for? Is it something that will help in the adjusting it? Could someone tell me more about that?
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 03:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: oregon
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
engine service light on

Now I put on another TB and the idle is a little low when warm, not bad. And a good idle at start up. I ran it for about 20 miles then the engine service soon lite came on. What would of caused that. I did replace the front small vacumme line as it had a small crack in the hose. I cleaned the TB prior. It was in a 96 geo and the lite was not on. Thanks for your help.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda IACV explained TomO Off-Topic Tech 16 12-21-2015 02:49 AM
Why I'm Choosing a Civic Over a Metro Wayneburg General Efficiency Discussion 43 03-02-2011 06:11 PM
mpg vs. speed - Metro graph MetroMPG Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed 26 06-05-2008 04:45 PM
'89 Metro - Has 13's... go 14's or bigger? SirKeats General Efficiency Discussion 11 06-04-2008 12:53 PM
Just picked up an '89 metro!!! SirKeats DIY / How-to 4 05-18-2008 03:46 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com