EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   The Lounge (https://ecomodder.com/forum/lounge.html)
-   -   I'm taking the plunge! (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/im-taking-plunge-36186.html)

Vman455 02-21-2018 12:28 PM

I'm taking the plunge!

After giving it a lot of thought, and thanks to the influence of all you rabble-rousers here...I've enrolled in a two-year Associate of Engineering Science degree program at a local college. I'll start this fall, then in 2020 transfer to the University of Illinois (or another four-year; I'll see how I feel then) mechanical engineering program, then perhaps a Master's after that. I'm going to be an aerodynamicist!

For those who don't know my background, I've been a professional organist since I was 14, and have a Master of Music degree from the Eastman School of Music. I came to Illinois originally to work on a Doctorate of Musical Arts; I'm ABD but haven't bothered finishing since I decided I didn't really want to teach music after spending two years doing just that, one at Pacific Lutheran University and another year in the Theory Department here at Illinois. The benefit of my job as Music Director at a large Catholic church is, it leaves my days mostly free to take classes. And, in the future I can always take a part-time or full-time job as an organist or organ builder (I spent three years full-time with a local builder, and a firm in Tennessee wants me to come work for them right now).

Anyway, I promise I won't come on here in future and lecture you all about how smooth closeout panels don't work when I start fluid dynamics coursework.:p

Daox 02-21-2018 12:43 PM

Woo, congrats. IMO that sounds fun, but I'm an engineering geek so... ya. Good luck to you!

redpoint5 02-21-2018 01:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vman455 (Post 561906)
Anyway, I promise I won't come on here in future and lecture you all about how smooth closeout panels don't work when I start fluid dynamics coursework.:p