Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2011, 10:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Muscle Car Modder

QuikSilver - '00 Ford Mustang GT
90 day: 24.7 mpg (US)
Nashville Mustang GT. The odds are against me.

Hey guys and gals. Im new to being registered here but have been searching the threads for info for quite a while. Im fighting an up hill battle. Not that I don't look forward to the challenge. I drive a 2000 Mustang GT with alot of go fast mods. Heads, full K&N intake, 75mm throttle body, long tube headers, tune, lowered. Your average bolt on GT. Im starting to et more interested in seeing how much fuel this car can sip. I recently came from Townsend, TN to Nashville, TN and got 33.3mpg at 60mph. Its a 5 speed manual with a 3.73 rear end gear.

I look forward to the interchange of knowledge.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 05-21-2011, 11:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Diesel Addict/No Cure

StolenHoopty - '90 Honda Accord EX

HvyDrnkr - '93 Cadillac Seville
If you pulled that number and can repeat it, you're doing fine. Get a Scangauge on that thing if you haven't done so, and drive by that for a while so you can baseline the car. Look at the hypermiling tips and work on your driving style first. Don't even mess with the mechanics on the car yet. Put together a log and track the mpg.

It looks like you put together a winner.

Gearing will make the biggest difference, but you didn't say whether or not you did the cams also with the heads or running stock sticks. No since dropping the final drive down if it pulls you out of the powerband, making the horse run like a dog.

If you still want to keep the fun factor with the car, consider putting a 6 speed in it, keep the 3.73s, and program an economy tune to go along with the performance tune you already have since it works well.

Big n' Boxy, Never met a Hill it Didn't Like