Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2015, 01:04 AM   #41 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marysville, wa
Posts: 221

97 Civic HX sedan VX trans - '98 Honda Civic LX + HX + VX
90 day: 41.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 42 Times in 24 Posts
Thank you so much! That part did have me slightly confused. The best I could figure is that was your LED display?

Anyways thanks for actually responding to a thread you started YEARS ago!

I did see your last activity was ~3 years ago before I posted here so I was quite shocked when you replied.

I will assemble the hardware tomorrow and commence playing!

__________________
1998 LX with a full HX swap + VX transaxle.





  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 03-30-2015, 01:06 AM   #42 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 143

'91 CRX - '91 Honda CRX DX
90 day: 34.91 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Turns out the email reply notifications still work.
And yes, the LED display is over I2C.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 01:09 AM   #43 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marysville, wa
Posts: 221

97 Civic HX sedan VX trans - '98 Honda Civic LX + HX + VX
90 day: 41.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 42 Times in 24 Posts
Was your last revision working to your satisfaction?

Were you able to get the large numerical readout going?

If you don't want to keep replying I totally understand, once I have a base running I can muck around and try to figure that stuff out.
__________________
1998 LX with a full HX swap + VX transaxle.





  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 02:56 AM   #44 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 143

'91 CRX - '91 Honda CRX DX
90 day: 34.91 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk618 View Post
Was your last revision working to your satisfaction?
Umm... no? It's functional, but very light on features.

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk618 View Post
Were you able to get the large numerical readout going?
You mean like double-height characters? No, I haven't played with that. As I understand it, it's a matter of sending custom characters to the display panel and assembling 4 of them on the screen to get the desired number. A dogm128 might be easier. ^_^
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobski For This Useful Post:
Theitguy (06-07-2015)
Old 06-07-2015, 08:07 PM   #45 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Opocoupler

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobski View Post
Mmmkay... Current hardware:

This may be a stupid question, but how would it affect the injector circuit if i used a different opocoupler? say a 4N28/4N25?

And Bobski, thanks for all your work taking this back to arduino! i have been keen on this project for a while but stuck in the mud until i stumbled upon this revision!

Much appreciated
Mitch
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 08:54 AM   #46 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Also, i am having trouble finding the parameter in code No#3 that sets the Vss pin no#... i need to set it as pin 2 as my lcd shield uses pin 3....
thanks
Mitch
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 12:32 PM   #47 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 143

'91 CRX - '91 Honda CRX DX
90 day: 34.91 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theitguy View Post
how would it affect the injector circuit if i used a different opocoupler? say a 4N28/4N25?
Should work. The trouble I ran across with the optocoupler was that it distorted the measured pulse length. The rise and fall times of the opto's output are different, and depend on the value of the pull-up resistor (10k-ohm on my diagram). If you have a reference signal, you could measure the distortion and subtract it in software.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 02:04 PM   #48 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 143

'91 CRX - '91 Honda CRX DX
90 day: 34.91 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theitguy View Post
Also, i am having trouble finding the parameter in code No#3 that sets the Vss pin no#
It's in void setup():
Code:
attachInterrupt(1,basicVssInterrupt,RISING);
Unfortunately it's hardware limited to certain pins.
Arduino - AttachInterrupt
Move the pin on your shield?
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobski For This Useful Post:
Theitguy (06-08-2015)
Old 06-08-2015, 06:45 PM   #49 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey, thanks for the replies! it really is much appreciated!

I will look into moving the pin on the shield, it really is a pain in the ass that they use that pin!

If it proves to be to hard to move the pin, you meantioned that the pins are hardware limited, is it because they can read pulses at a higher speed? if so ill do some research on which other pins also have this ability.. maybe :P
also, in regards to the code:

attachInterrupt(1,basicVssInterrupt,RISING);

The figure "1" sets the pin as 3?

Sorry for all my ignorance and stupid questions, im still getting the hang of all this arduino rubbish!

Cheers
Mitch
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2015, 09:25 PM   #50 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 143

'91 CRX - '91 Honda CRX DX
90 day: 34.91 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theitguy View Post
is it because they can read pulses at a higher speed? if so ill do some research on which other pins also have this ability
With greater precision, yes. Check out the attachInterrupt link i posted above. In short, interrupts let the software immediately stop what it's doing, deal with the interrupt routine and then return to what it was working on. In this case, basicVssInterrupt figures out the time between VSS pulses (vehicle speed) and increments the VSS pulse count (odometer).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theitguy View Post
attachInterrupt(1,basicVssInterrupt,RISING);
The figure "1" sets the pin as 3?
It depends which board you're using, but that's the gist of it, yes. Again, check the link.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com