Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2011, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Versa - '08 Nissan Versa
90 day: 35.43 mpg (US)
Urban Electric Assist

I'm still a relative newbie to hypermiling, but one observation I've made since installing an UltraGauge is that urban driving kills avg. MPG. I can get about 44 MPG on the highway (EPA 32) in my Nissan Versa, but helplessly watch the avg. drop when driving around town and in traffic. I posted a question asking for driving techniques to minimize the impact (and got lots of great suggestions, thnks to everyone who responded), and I now get around 30 MPG in town; but I want more dang it!

So I wonder if anyone has thought about a hybrid electric conversion, but optimized for urban conditions. It would help with acceleration at low speeds, and possibly include regenerative braking. The idea is to have just enough electric assist to keep MPG up during urban driving conditions without a lot of extra weight that would hurt overall MPG.

I've cursorily looked at both the Poulson Hyrbrid and NetGain's EMIS system, but both are too expensive to be worth it on a Versa. Anyone thought about this before?

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 07-11-2011, 11:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX
That is the idea behind the Prius Plug-in and the plug in kits, but even tho they are a retro fit to a vehicle that already has an electric motor they are rather costly.
Most likely the simplest way to add on a hybrid is with something like a pusher trailer, or the drop down drive wheel like has been done on the honda insignt.
Adding hybrid to a front wheel drive vehicle in any other way is going to be pretty hard because you have very limited space to add a motor in.