Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2011, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Ranger FX4 Level 2 - '03 Ford Ranger FX4 Level 2
90 day: 19.9 mpg (US)
Simple mods to a Ranger...

Hello all. I'm new here.

I joined up after gas prices started climbing here in Kentucky. I commute 133 miles per day, 66.5 to and from work. I've been doing this for about 9 years now, and gone thru several different vehicles and combinations of vehicles. A Focus, old 3.0L Ranger, S10, Geo Tracker, Blazer...

Now, I've consolidated. We own a farm, so a 4x4 truck is necessary... and I do enjoy the winter drive to work in snow, so my truck works. It's a 2003 Ranger FX4 Lvl 2 with 4.0L & manual 5-speed. However, it's not the greatest with gas mileage. I've averaged somewhere around 19.27 over the life, which is above it's rating, but I still think I can get more out of it. I top off the tank every two days... and have every receipt since the purchase of the truck. I've documented it religiously. I always have with every vehicle... since I've made this drive.

I'm looking for some good reasonable modifications I can do to get this truck to the mid-20's. I can't lower it, add dams to the front, or do anything to greatly reduce the functionality of the truck. I need it. I'm wondering if I'll see some improvements from little hidden things like electric water pump, underdrive pulleys, cold air induction, custom tuners, etc. Or, should I focus more on learning how to drive efficiently... via a vaccuum gauge or ultragauge?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm not targeting 30 or 40mpg... so I don't think my goal is too unrealistic. Thanks!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 05-03-2011, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
UFO
Master EcoModder

Colorado - '17 Chevrolet Colorado 4x4 LT
90 day: 23.07 mpg (US)