Go Back   EcoModder Forum > AltModding > Saving@Home
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2024, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Engine-Off-Coast

Red 2000 Insight (2017 through 2019) - '00 Honda Insight 5MT
90 day: 64.72 mpg (US)

Red 2000 Lithium Insight (2020) - '00 Honda Insight LTO
90 day: 71.76 mpg (US)
Refrigerator Coil Cleaning - How much does it help?

I've never done this before. But today I went and vacuumed//brushed a bunch of dust bunnies and hair and stuff off my fridge coils. It wasn't as bad as some horrifying ones I've seen on google image search, but I'm assuming the dust wasn't helping.

Has anyone ever studied this and like gotten numbers? Google (useless now anyway) has like results saying 'yes it helps' or 'no it does not help' but I was wondering if there are any actual numbers people have.

The Following User Says Thank You to Natalya For This Useful Post:
redpoint5 (09-08-2024)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 09-08-2024, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
aero guerrilla

Svietlana II - '13 Peugeot 308SW e-HDI 6sp
90 day: 58.1 mpg (US)
Yes, it helps.

In fact, it helps double: The dust not only hinders air flow over the coils, but also acts as an insulator!

No numbers, because there are SOOOOO many variables here: The size/area of the coils, their temperature, the speed/volume/temperature of the airflow over them, whether it is forced air or passive cooling, etc. And of course, how much dust (and what kind of dust) is on those coils.

Also, if the refrigerator itself is badly insulated, then it will turn on more often and for longer, so the gain in heat exchange efficiency will have more impact than in the case of a well insulated fridge which is rarely on.

What matters is where you're going, not how fast.