EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   General Efficiency Discussion (https://ecomodder.com/forum/general-efficiency-discussion.html)
-   -   skinny tires and handling effect (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/skinny-tires-handling-effect-30576.html)

jimhs 11-26-2014 02:53 PM

skinny tires and handling effect

hello ecomodders!!

it is time to buy new tires for my bmw E30 318i
currently the tires are 195/60r14
and Ι am thinking about 175/70R14
in order to bring revs down and decreace rolling and aerodynamic resistance.
I tend to enjoy my car on curvy roads and hypermile elsewhere in order to balance my fuel consumption.
my question is about lateral grip,how bad can it be??
and what about FE with this tire conversion???

average mpg is 33-35 mpg
mods: 40-45 psi,grill block,air dam,belt fan delete(on winter),30kg weight reduction,folded passenger mirror(except city driving)

thank you in advance!

Hypermiler1995 11-26-2014 06:44 PM

I'm not an expert, but I have looked into this, The Donkey CRX claims 1.5-2mpg, so expect 1mpg from thinness, plus maybe 1mpg for height, and expect the tires to be more likely follow any unevenness in the road, you might feel bumps more too.

mcrews 11-26-2014 07:31 PM

LOOK for my posts on my 2002 Q45S with factory 245/45/18. I went to 50's. didn't notice any difference in handling.
Really depends on the stickiness of the rubber.
The 5+% increase in diameter helped my mpg, especially on the highway.

niky 11-26-2014 07:48 PM

Pumping up the tires extra hard just for those canyon-carving sessions can mitigate or eliminate any loss of grip due to the sidewalls rolling over. And let's be honest, coming from a 195/60, you'd already have a lot of that happening anyway, unless you're already running high pressures!