Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2011, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Questions about upcoming road trip (temporary mods to 2011 Ram 1500 pickup?)

Hey all, I'm pretty new to EcoModder, joined because I recently bought a 2011 Ram 1500 which allegedly gets about 20 hmpg, although mine's less because it's 4x4. Anyway, the fuel economy is relatively pretty good as far as trucks go, but on an absolute basis is pretty poor.
My biggest concern is when I drive it between college and home, the former being in Florida, the latter in upstate New York, a 1,200-mile trip. I was wondering what kinds of things I might be able to do to boost the FE given rather limited options.
The first thing that jumped out at me was the gap between the bed and the cab. It's a bit wide for a single strip of tape, so my plan was to tape a strip of cardboard over the gap to make the body more streamlined. But can I realistically expect a significant fuel savings from this mod over the extent of this trip (and assumedly the return trip of the same length)? Because I love the look of my truck, and there's a direct correlation in my mind between being aerodynamic and looking dorky, case in point putting duck tape and cardboard all over your truck.
Second, should I be concerned about the significant change in temperature, since this trip will be made around December, where it's really warm here and cold/snowing at the destination? Considering the ideal gas law, as temperature increases for fixed volume, so should pressure. So, in theory, if I re-inflate the tires to 41 PSI (manufacturer recommended) while in New York in winter, and then drive down to Florida, would that cause an increase in pressure to the extent that I might be worried about a blowout?