Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Success Stories
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2013, 06:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lots of Questions

Motor-Rolla - '01 Toyota Corolla LE
Team Toyota
90 day: 28.3 mpg (US)

Gaia - '99 Toyota 4Runner SR5 Highlander
90 day: 19.78 mpg (US)

Gaia - Round 2 - '99 Toyota 4runner SR5 Highlander
90 day: 17.3 mpg (US)
Lester: Normal Driving to "Hypermilling"

I decided to test out how I can do with the truck after I got it. The first tank I decided to set a base line to see what I can get out of it as if I was a normal driver. I accelerated relatively hard, didn't put it in neutral, etc. My mom even drove it for about half a tank, which means she probably drove it about 70-75, and more than likely with the A/C on, depending on how hot it was at the time. (I wasn't with her while she was driving) I ended up at 18.994 MPG. Rated MPG is 16/19/17 for city, highway, average. So almost 19 is not bad compared to what the rated is. But I know I can make it better...

So on the second tank, I put into effect the same hypermiller techniques as I would do for the Corolla (they're both automatic, so I can only do so much). I was in the middle of testing a theory on the Corolla, when it stopped working, so I continued the theory on Lester. My thought is that they both sustain around 2-2.1K RPMs at highway speed (60-65). If the best MPG is at highway, then surely I will get decent FE if I limit the times I go over that ~2K threshold while accelerating. So that with neutral coasting and timing lights, etc. I ended up at 20.244, exactly 1.25 MPG better than "stock"! The last day before I hit empty, I had to fight traffic, so I know it would have been better, even if only marginally.