Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Fossil Fuel Free
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2016, 12:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lurking Eco-wall-o-texter

Dual OEM AC EV motors, one drive?

Hello all,

Been keeping up with the development of MPaulHolmes' "Paul and Sabrina's Cheap 3 Phase Inverter (AC Controller) with Field Oriented Control" and the gears are spinning merrily in my head.

I'm still a ways off from being able to afford a conversion, but using 1 or more Nissan Leaf motors with this 200kW capable controller looks like a winner from a bang for the buck perspective.

I have what may be a motor or controller theory question, and please keep in mind that I'm a Mechanical Engineer, not an EE.

I would like to run two Leaf motors off one controller, based on my assumption that it doesn't seem likely that the Leaf motor is overbuilt enough to put out much more than 100kW without increasing the voltage above a stock Leaf battery pack level, due to hitting the current saturation limit (or something). A single motor is "enough" (80kW constant rating at 7000RPM will theoretically push my theoretical EV up a 6% grade at 60-70mph), but I want more, of course. If a single leaf motor can handle 200kw short term (or longer with additional cooling), then no need to pair up.

Theoretically, this can be done - at least, it is common in industry to run multiple AC motors off a single VFD. However, the Leaf is an Interior Permanent Magnet type AC motor, thus if I understand correctly it is a synchronous type and operates without "slip", and this complicates the process of trying to parallel two motors.

I have an idea of what I would need to do to make two IPM motors work on one drive, so please follow along and let me know where I made my mistakes, and correct them if possible.