Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2012, 11:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
From MPH to MPG

Shepherd,

Can't comment on your side vents as I'm still learning air flow dynamics.

But can tell you that the vents on the Peterbilt aren't to exhaust hot air out of the engine compartment; they are the fresh air inlet for the air filter.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 01-04-2012, 01:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

AlienMobile - '00 Honda Insight
Team Honda
90 day: 80.05 mpg (US)
Internal Ductwork

I would think that you would want to separate the air that is escaping from the radiator to the outside world, from the air that going twice the surface speed of the road at the top of the tire! Picture 2 really brings this home.

If your going to vent radiator air at this particular location, then a baffle between the vented air and the top of the tire would be very beneficial.

Without that, you will have one heck of a parasitic load from all the air churning about in that location.

Jim.
Old 01-05-2012, 05:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 7,223 Times in 4,650 Posts
vents

Dr.Alberto Morelli's work in the Pininfarina wind tunnel for the CNR 'banana car',beginning in 1976,probably owns the distinction of the most efficient extractor vent technology I've seen published.
Cooling air off the heat exchanger was divided into four ducted streams which exited the engine bay,blending with the surface flow at exactly the same velocity so as not to trip the flow into turbulence.
If you look for the oil-streaked tunnel photos of the car you will see unperturbed streamlines at these outlet locations.
When the Pontiac Trans Am was undergoing wind tunnel development at the Lockheed Marietta tunnel,the extractor gill slits registered a minor drag increase.