Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2011, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Van - '00 Chevy Astro 2WD Passenger
Some Hypermiling questions

I recently purchased a manual transmission car, and have a few questions on how to increase its fuel efficiency even greater. This is my first time driving stick shift (aside from a motorcycle), so I was wondering what would be the best time to shift gears (in rpm's) in order to keep efficiency up. Its a '93 Civic Dx if that helps. One more question. Lets say I'm coasting in neutral at 30 mph, and need to accelerate because the streetlight turned green. Would I shift to the appropriate gear for that speed? And would going from neutral to 3rd, for example, damage the transmission? Any answers would be greatly appreciated, since I'm only a beginner! I've been hypermiling in automatic cars though, and have seen some impressive gains, like 20% mpg, so I'm optimistic! Thanks again

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-05-2011, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Making Ecomods a G thing

Angie - '08 Infiniti G35 X
90 day: 22.03 mpg (US)
couldn't tell you the RPM's to shift at, the last time i owned a honda it was turbocharged and i made good use of it. as far as the shift from neutral to 3rd (or whatever gear you're going to) make sure you "blip" the throttle to raise engine RPM prior to engaging the clutch (a process called "rev matching") it could take some time to figure out exactly how high you want to rev your engine prior to engaging the clutch, it's all practice.

Old 06-06-2011, 12:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

redyaris - '07 Toyota Yaris
Team Toyota
90 day: 45.54 mpg (US)

Gray - '07 Suzuki GS500 F
Motorcycle
90 day: 70.4 mpg (US)

streamliner1 - '83 Honda VT500 streamliner
Motorcycle
90 day: 75.63 mpg (US)

White Whale - '12 Sprinter 2500 Cargo Van