Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2012, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

Adjusting track to reduce understeer...?

I have been having a conversation with other driving instructors on a UK forum and one made the following comment which I found interesting....

Quote:
As a trained mechanic i am also aware of how the geometry of a car is set up to induce understeer when approaching the limits of grip...this causes tyre scrub which is very wastefull with learners doing mano's all the time....so a session with the calculator and tape measure revealed the fiesta required 5mm wheel spacers on the rear wheels to reduce this...makes a huge difference to how far it will keep rolling on full lock.

Could this really have any benefit in reducing tyre wear and FC?? I find it hard to see, personally. If my car runs freely with the steering in the straight-ahead position, surely the amount of time I will be free-wheeling with the steering turned by any amount will be quite small???

In the case of a learner doing a reverse manoeuver - we are usually doing only 2mph!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-01-2012, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

FFE - '17 Ford Focus Electric
Maybe if you own a Fiesta.
Every car is different. Even two identical cars would handle a bit differently depending on the tires, wheels and wheel offsets.
Old 04-02-2012, 07:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

I questioned the author of the original message I was quoting, and here is his reply: Comments??

Quote:
Hello kingsway

....so you will be well aware of something called ackermann steering....for others reading here is a link that explains it

Ackermann steering geometry - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia