Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2013, 07:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Modifying a full sized van top for aerodynamics?

I'm planning to buy a late 90s Ford 7.3l diesel to convert into a RV and had some questions. I'm going to cut the roof off and box in a heightened roof (roughly 24" taller) out of 1/2 square steel and I will skin that in 20-22g cold rolled. This will allow me to make a really custom top with welded seams and no chance of leaking.

Since I'm already making a new top for it, what would be the most aerodynamic design for that? I would like to extend the front a little or ideally the front and back but I don't know if sticking the front out over the windshield will impact the MPG a lot or not. I have no experience with this short of what intuitively makes sense so any pointing in the right direction would be wonderful!

The van profile looks like this:

I don't have enough posts to include a profile picture for the van but you can google that.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 12-16-2013, 09:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Do you follow stuff at the Expedition Portal? Lots of ideas there. (Gotta be a member to view pictures in the forums.)

Like the "Jackur" van. Folding top gives lots of space parked, but minimal additional frontal area on the road:

Old 12-16-2013, 11:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

If you haven't done so already, check out the Sticky:Aerodynamic Streamline Template near the top of the list of Aerodynamics threads.

Then perhaps incorporate a partial boattail into the extension at the rear.
Old 12-16-2013, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder