Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2012, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

GMC - '00 GMC Sierra SLE
Another Truck....

Long time lurker, new poster......

I'm a carpenter, and I use my truck for work. For 3 years I've been driving a '97 Dakota 5.2l 4x4 5spd with a 3" body lift and 33x12.5's...... HORRIBLE on fuel (usually 13-14mpg, never over 15.5 since the lift and tires) and it was time for a change.

A month or so ago I bought a 2000 GMC Sierra 4x4 4.8l auto. I've been getting around 16mpg with it so far, which is a definite improvement over the Dakota, but I'm looking for more (of course!). One tank I had a lot of longer trips at 55-60mph and squeaked out 18.4mpg! With that one tank (29.5 gallon fill ups from the low fuel light) I figured I saved around $35 over driving the Dakota.

Where should I start? Chin spoiler? Lower it? Take off mud flaps?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-01-2012, 09:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

GMC - '00 GMC Sierra SLE
Old 03-02-2012, 07:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Iceberg - '02 Ford F250 XLT
Pickups
90 day: 18.3 mpg (US)

Tool - '08 Toyota Matrix XR
Team Toyota
90 day: 43.15 mpg (US)
Hi Decksetter, if you don't already have a ScanGuage II real time data from the ODBII port, get one! The constant feedback is great at changing driving habits. On my last refill I managed 17mpg doing cold start short drives 75% of the time. I don't have good ABA but I'm sure that before I would have gotten 15.
Ed
Old 03-02-2012, 08:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned

2004 CTD - '04 DODGE RAM 2500 SLT
Team Cummins
90 day: 19.36 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed-in-Maine View Post