Go Back   EcoModder Forum > AltModding > Saving@Home
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2010, 09:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Low Roller - '94 Honda Civic VX
90 day: 52.85 mpg (US)
Any insulation questions??

I have been working for the last 8 months installing insulation/air sealing, and troubleshooting home performance problems. I know about attic airsealing, blowing cellulose insulation, basement/foundation and rim joist insulation/airsealing, dense packing wall cavities, etc. I am not an expert but could offer general advice for do it yourselfers. I will have a little bit of time over the next few weeks to answer some questions, if people have them.
thanks,
James

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 01-09-2010, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX
I need to insulate under a floor that is going to get electric radiant heat, I was thinking reflecix with cellulose under it... anything better I can do?
Old 01-11-2010, 09:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Mater - '98 Dodge 3500 Dually

Wilber - '99 Toyota Corolla LX

Minyatta - '93 Mazda Miata MX-5
I put a kitchen addition on the back of my house a few years back & everything was going great until my wife decided that we had to have the house pressure washed last summer. Now I have water leaks. The rest of the house is fine. I'm trying to keep the snow off the affected area as best I can.

I flashed it in the traditional method, other sections that I've done have no problems. In the spring, what can I do to seal this up?

Thanks,
Dave
Old 01-11-2010, 12:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Is it leaking around windows or doors, or is it leaking in the middle of the wall?