Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2013, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

audi 5000s (inherited this diesel... 43 mpg hwy ... should I keep it?)

Hi all! need opinions please.Just inherited a 1981 5000S diesel.I have a 60mile a day commute,all easy hwy driving and am looking for some mpg.I drained the old fuel,changed the oil,put a new battery in it.Lo and behold it fired up.Smoked quite a bit until warm but then cleaned up.The Audi brochures from the day say 43mpg hwy.Is this possible?
My QUESTIONS ARE.
Were these cars reliable? Should i put some money into it or look for a more modern mpg car.
I will admit that the lack of multiple computers to deal with is a big plus to me.My wifes volvos60 is a computer controlled nightmare.As an acft mech by trade I will be doing most my own work.Please send your thoughts.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-30-2013, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

XJ Cherokee - '00 Jeep Cherokee Sport
90 day: 12.96 mpg (US)

FoFO - '11 Ford Focus SE
90 day: 36.78 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by audi5000 View Post
Hi all! need opinions please.Just inherited a 1981 5000S diesel.I have a 60mile a day commute,all easy hwy driving and am looking for some mpg.I drained the old fuel,changed the oil,put a new battery in it.Lo and behold it fired up.Smoked quite a bit until warm but then cleaned up.The Audi brochures from the day say 43mpg hwy.Is this possible?
My QUESTIONS ARE.
Were these cars reliable? Should i put some money into it or look for a more modern mpg car.
I will admit that the lack of multiple computers to deal with is a big plus to me.My wifes volvos60 is a computer controlled nightmare.As an acft mech by trade I will be doing most my own work.Please send your thoughts.