Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2009, 09:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Calibrating the Ecometer

I have installed the Ecometer in a 2009 F-150 and the av. MPG reads high, as most seem to do. I have misplaced the instructions on how to 'calibrate' the device. Could anyone post those instructions for me? As I recall, I need to briefly unplug the device from the truck's computer.

Also, just one time, the 'av MPG' seems to have reverted to a lower number. It did not appear to be a 're-set' since the readout did not change (except over a prolonged period of time) making me think that it was still taking an good average reading, but at that suddenly lower number. I had been comparing the Ecometer with the truck's internal av. MPG readout.

Thanks for your help!

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 12-07-2009, 10:11 PM   #12 (permalink)
...beats walking...
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 6,191
Thanks: 179
Thanked 1,521 Times in 1,122 Posts
...there really isn't a "calibration," just an "efficiency value"--100 is what it comes with from the factory. I had to lower it to 90 for the Vibe.

...the Instruction Manual is needed because it's NOT exactly intuitive as to what must be done to set/reset the "efficiency value"

Last edited by gone-ot; 12-08-2009 at 08:56 AM.. Reason: corrected "scale factor" to "efficiency value"
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 10:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ecomater MPG gauge

O.T.M.,

Thanks for the reply.

I don't have the instruction manual anymore (misplaced) but I think I recall reading that the thing needs to be unplugged from the truck's computer while some sequence of buttons are pushed, after I have calculated the 'factor' that needs to be applied.

Can you post that part of the instructions from the manual?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
...beats walking...
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 6,191
Thanks: 179
Thanked 1,521 Times in 1,122 Posts
If your ecometer displays a different average MPG value than your calculated value, you can fine tune the ecometer to match the condition of your vehicle by following these steps:

1) Unplug the ecometer plug from your vehicle's OBD port.

2) While pressing down the left button on the ecometer, push the ecometer plug back into the OBD port on your vehicle.

3) The display will show DSP or EFF depending on the type of sensor the vehicle has.

4) If the display shows EFF proceed to step 6. If DSP is on the display, presss the right button once, the current engine displacement (in liters) should be displayed.

5) Press the left button once.

6) The display will show EFF.

7) Push the right button again and the display will change to a value. The ecometer comes pre-programmed from the factory at 100.

8) If the ecometer is calculating too low of a MPG value, push the right button and hold to increase the value to read between 100 and 140. After you have selected the new vehicle efficiency value, press the left button which will save this value and return to operating mode.

9) If the ecometer is calculating too high of a MPG value, push the right button and hold until the display shows a value between 60 and 100. The display will first move from 100 to 140 and then start increasing.

10) Re-run the verification procedure (gas-tank fillup and MPG calculation).

Last edited by gone-ot; 12-08-2009 at 08:57 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 07:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ecomoeter MPG gauge

O.T.M.,

Those instructions were exactly what I was looking for.

I am reading too high at this point and will make the adjustment prior to the next fill-up & will let you know in about 500 miles after that.

Thanks for your help!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 08:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
...beats walking...
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 6,191
Thanks: 179
Thanked 1,521 Times in 1,122 Posts
...hope you have better luck than I did.

...I'm beginning to suspect the problem was due to the Japanese electrons used in the computer (wink,wink).
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 09:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: CA,LA
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just got my ecometer today and i also notice alot of jumping around on the instant MPG and RPM. Also some sort of a delay when i accelerate hard ill see the red bars 2 sec later. as for the avrage mpg ill have 2 wait and see. i have a 2006 toyota tacoma 4cyl
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 12:43 PM   #18 (permalink)
Saturn Driver
 
Nels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Manitowoc WI
Posts: 30

Peanut - '96 Saturn SL
90 day: 37.27 mpg (US)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Anything new to report?

I'm just hitting this thread to ask if any more positive information has been gathered on this unit. I have been looking into buying one, but I hesitated after reading this thread. Maybe a plain old vacuum gauge would be a better use of my $$. Those are a bit cheaper anyway. The plug-in installation and general 'geek factor' kind of pulled me in this direction.

Oooooh, a shiny thing . . . . . . .
__________________
Nels
Manitowoc WI
1996 Saturn SL, 5-sp manual


2011 Fiesta SFE sedan, 6-sp dual dry clutch Powershift transmission
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 09:30 AM   #19 (permalink)
38 time NHRA/IHRA Champ
 
ATaylorRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 305
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jago25_98 View Post
Sounds interesting. I wonder where yo got it from.

I'm looking for a cheaper alternative to the Scangauge but I don't want to get into soldering and wiring. It would be much nicer to just plug into the ODB-II port. I really don't want anything other than average MPG.

edit:
I can already plug my Vagcom cable in with my laptop and get some readings, but I can't find anything giving me mpg readings. (cheap vagcom ebay cable, not the real thing)
Try this....I will be getting one. Plugs right in on 96 and newer cars:

Kiwi MPG - Diagnostic Computer Saves Gas, Improve MPG, Fuel Saver, Reset Engine Trouble Codes, Drive Green
__________________
42 time NHRA/IHRA drag race champ

05 SRT4-12.17@117 mph on DOTs-31.0 mpg-SOLD
96 Geo Metro-3 banger-60.1 mpg-SOLD
95 BMW M3-13.41 @ 106 mph-31mpg-SOLD
77 Chevy Monza with 350/350-FOR SALE
84 Horizon-1880 lbs-29 mpg
95 Neon-43 mpg
99 Z28-10.80 @ 127 mph-27.1mpg
2011 Prius-62.1 wife's
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
...beats walking...
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 6,191
Thanks: 179
Thanked 1,521 Times in 1,122 Posts
...it would really be useful to see a "side-by-side" comparison table on these three units, the Kiwi MPG, the AutoMeter 9100 and the ScanGaugeII.

...as they say, "...every dog has his fleas...," and so do different MPG units.

...anybody seen a published "table" comparing these three MPG units?

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Project: Rebuilding an '01 Honda Insight as a nonhybrid Fabio Hybrids 158 01-12-2013 11:59 AM
$70 OBD2 MPG Meter mazade Instrumentation 18 02-05-2012 09:05 PM
How to get instant fuel consumption from Megasquirt TELVM Instrumentation 11 08-29-2011 02:47 PM
PLX Devices releasing smaller $89 OBD-II MPG gauge MetroMPG Instrumentation 17 04-19-2009 06:32 PM
Analog MPG meter. jim-frank Instrumentation 11 09-19-2008 11:38 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com