Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Off-Topic > The Lounge
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2014, 07:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
EcoReality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
You can get into the pack and charge the high-voltage cap directly from rectified line voltage.

KIDS! DON'T TRY THIS AT HOME!

I don't think you want to raise the battery pack voltage. It's designed for 6V, and going much over that is likely to fry it. Instead, go in and charge the cap directly with 300V or whatever. Take the voltage off the cap label, and go 25% or so below that, and put that much into it.

  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to EcoReality For This Useful Post:
chrisgerman1983 (03-29-2014)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 03-20-2014, 04:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 162

chrisgerman1983 - '96 chevrolet astro
90 day: 14.02 mpg (US)
Thanks: 33
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Thanks for the replies. I am trying to get faster recycle time for the flash. I want to fire at full power in bursts but not for too long. It is an older flash I wouldn't be heartbroken if it fried but I want to try and avoid that from happening. I can buy newer faster flashes or full studio strobes but I like to use what I have if I can. Here are few pictures of the insides.





  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 07:07 PM   #13 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
EcoReality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
That big cap in the second photo -- charge it up and measure the voltage on it. Then jack that voltage into it for the absolutely fastest charge. Unless there's a bigger cap the photos don't show. (The main charge cap generally takes up a good 50% of the space.)
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to EcoReality For This Useful Post:
chrisgerman1983 (03-23-2014)
Old 03-23-2014, 08:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 162

chrisgerman1983 - '96 chevrolet astro
90 day: 14.02 mpg (US)
Thanks: 33
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Thank you! I will take it apart a little more. I thought it seemed small, The disposable cameras i have taken apart had way bigger.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 01:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 162

chrisgerman1983 - '96 chevrolet astro
90 day: 14.02 mpg (US)
Thanks: 33
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Ok here is the big guy, 350v. So how should I wire the battery into the cap? is it just as simple as running + & - or does the cap run in line to the flash.

  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 06:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
EcoReality's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisgerman1983 View Post
Ok here is the big guy, 350v. So how should I wire the battery into the cap? is it just as simple as running + & - or does the cap run in line to the flash.
Okay, now you've got a bit of engineering to do.

You need a ~340 volt supply. Do not exceed 350 volts, or you'll fry the cap! Apply it to the cap. That's about it. Note that if you use a commercial power supply, it may also have big caps hanging on it, and combined with the one in the flash, may supply enough energy to fry the flash tube.

If your 340 V supply is "stiff," (low output impedance) it might be good to limit inrush current to the cap with a small resistor. I can't tell you what to use without knowing more about the HV supply.

Basically, the rest of the electronics is an inverter to get the 6 V from the batteries up to 340 volts, plus a trigger transformer that gives a very brief pulse of some 10,000 volts to cause the cap to discharge into the tube.

Be careful. There may be enough energy in that cap to cause all your friends and relatives to gather in your honour.
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to EcoReality For This Useful Post:
chrisgerman1983 (03-29-2014)
Old 03-29-2014, 06:59 PM   #17 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 162

chrisgerman1983 - '96 chevrolet astro
90 day: 14.02 mpg (US)
Thanks: 33
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
ookaayy... I might put it back together lol... thank you very much for your help!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 07:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,643
Thanks: 1,503
Thanked 276 Times in 226 Posts
Were you just going to solder some leads from a double a battery or the one from your power tool?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisgerman1983 View Post
ookaayy... I might put it back together lol... thank you very much for your help!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 07:30 PM   #19 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 162

chrisgerman1983 - '96 chevrolet astro
90 day: 14.02 mpg (US)
Thanks: 33
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
I think I would have had to run the higher voltage directly to the big cap?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 10:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 2,643
Thanks: 1,503
Thanked 276 Times in 226 Posts
Cool

Yes, those tubes take a bit of voltage to light up. Now led strobe lights do not need that high voltage.

HIGH VOLTAGE ROCK N ROLL!!!!!

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com