02-21-2009, 06:21 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 7 Posts
|
Canadian MPGuino for kilometers
I've modified 0.75 to select US or metric units at compile time.
Eventually I'd like to be able to switch units on the fly or at least select USA/Metric in the configuration and I've started coding in that style, but there wasn't enough program memory on my first attempt.
Updated June 12, 2009: it works on my 95 Neon Sport, 2.0L SOHC, 5MT - VSS/KM=9926, MICROSECONDS/LITRE=57442679.
I'm working on version 76m using the Atmel328 and Arduino IDE 0013 - plenty of space now - have already added RPM and working on L/KM.
Thanks everybody for this most excellent project. Being relatively new at Arduino, it is good to see more advanced code samples using interrupts/etc.
Last edited by mluckham; 06-12-2009 at 10:33 PM..
Reason: updated information
|
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to mluckham For This Useful Post:
|
|
Today
|
|
|
Other popular topics in this forum...
|
|
|
03-08-2009, 11:38 AM
|
#2 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Turkey
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
Thanks, I myself gonna convert units for a while but i'm just too lazy to start. I think this must be included in wiki.
|
|
|
03-10-2009, 10:08 AM
|
#3 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts USA
Posts: 84
Ziggy - '95 Audi S6 Sedan Manfred - '97 Audi A6 Quattro Sedan 90 day: 20.61 mpg (US) Clarabell - '03 Audi A4 Quattro Avant Sherman - '98 Audi A6 Quattro Avant Cab - '96 Audi Cabriolet
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
|
Well done!
The runtime switch will be difficult if you don't want to reset the MPGuino but just switch the current information from gallons/miles to liters/km or vice versa. It's possible but would require conversion functions everywhere that the units are used. I suppose the data could be kept internally in some arbitrary units and then always converted for display.
I gave up trying to work within the ATmega168 Flash constraints. I'm using an ATmega328 with Arduino-0013. Works just fine and cost $5.00US for the chip.
|
|
|
03-10-2009, 11:31 AM
|
#4 (permalink)
|
needs more cowbell
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ÿ
Posts: 5,038
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
|
Just FYI, here is a mega88 (half the flash of a 168), lot of work but can do a lot with not much:
I'm working on metric and pulse direction for the 168 cuz there are a lot of 168s out there. Might come down to a "bootloader not installed" compiler flag though.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
|
|
|
08-03-2009, 02:12 PM
|
#5 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Apprentice
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chile
Posts: 223
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
|
MPGuino Metric
Thank you very much!
By the way, what does 0.75 mean or state for?
Thanks again,
Old Beaver
Quote:
Originally Posted by mluckham
I've modified 0.75 to select US or metric units at compile time.
Eventually I'd like to be able to switch units on the fly or at least select USA/Metric in the configuration and I've started coding in that style, but there wasn't enough program memory on my first attempt.
Updated June 12, 2009: it works on my 95 Neon Sport, 2.0L SOHC, 5MT - VSS/KM=9926, MICROSECONDS/LITRE=57442679.
I'm working on version 76m using the Atmel328 and Arduino IDE 0013 - plenty of space now - have already added RPM and working on L/KM.
Thanks everybody for this most excellent project. Being relatively new at Arduino, it is good to see more advanced code samples using interrupts/etc.
|
|
|
|
08-08-2009, 09:10 AM
|
#6 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
instead of km/l, it will be good to have a l/100km display.
Last edited by AlainB7; 09-14-2009 at 11:15 PM..
|
|
|
09-10-2009, 08:49 AM
|
#7 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: May 2009
Location: near São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
Honda Civic LX 1999 metric
Hi,
Thanks to DCB for this great project and Mluckham for the metric conversion. I've built the MPGuino using an iDuino kit, everything went smoothly, installed it on my Honda Civic LX 1999, it's working great! http://forum.ecomodder.com/images/smilies/smile.gif
I'm still in the ballpark about VSS p/km (currently 5100, I estimate it is no more than 10% in error) and uSec/km (using 0087696156 guess it is showing consumption 10 to 20% better than it really is...), need more time and fillups to calibrate better.
|
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to demarco For This Useful Post:
|
|
09-12-2009, 05:32 PM
|
#8 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Apprentice
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chile
Posts: 223
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
|
MPGuino metric by Demarco
Hello Demerco!
Nice picture! Congratulations for your work!
I haven´t been able to attach my MPguino to my diesel car yet.
Can you tell me the nature of the vss signal the MPguino wants to receive?
Well, I know it is a digital signal, but, what else?
I have a diesel car with two fuel flow sensors which send a digital signal each.
Computing the difference I have the actual fuel consumption.
Do you figure where can I input this fuel consumption signal to MPGuino as to be understood as real time fuel consumption?
Somewhere in the program, the vss signal si converted to fuel consumption, isn´t it?
Can you help me to identify the program sequence where that variable is inputted?
Thank you much,
OldBeaver
|
|
|
09-13-2009, 08:11 PM
|
#9 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Lurker
Join Date: May 2009
Location: near São Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
|
Hello Oldbeaver,
Thanks for the compliments.
My car runs on gas, I don't know how to connect a MPGuino to a diesel car.
About the VSS signals, I suppose they are pulses of 12V and the AVR microprocessor counts how many pulses, each pulse corresponding to a certain distance travelled.
If the motor doesn't have injectors from where to obtain the fuel flow data, instead it has two different fuel flow sensors which requires an arithmetic operation, then I guess MPGuino would need another input and a new software.
I'm a newcomer to microprocessors and I'm not able to help you with program modifications, sorry!
Gud luck,
demarco
|
|
|
09-14-2009, 01:00 PM
|
#10 (permalink)
|
EcoModding Apprentice
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chile
Posts: 223
Thanks: 15
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
|
Ok to all.
Well, I am not an expert myself. But what you said gave me a idea, that I will test.
Maybe I just need a constant to convert my pulses into MPguino like pulses.
Vocé fala Portugués?
OldBeaver
|
|
|
|