Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2016, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Ecomotorhome/Tour Bus

Hey all, it's been a while since I've posted here.

I've got a new project I've been working on. I play music for a living, so I needed an economical, fun, tax write off to haul the band/gear. I opted for an 85' Toyota Motorhome with the 22re. Just under 50k miles, basically no rust (by Maine standards).

I paid $1000 delivered for the motorhome.

Here's a link to the first video in the series. I'll post direct links to the other videos if there's interest.

Sadly, my old computer died last week and I haven't gotten the old photos out of it yet, so I only have current progress photos. I'll put one with the new walls framed up tarped wet your appetite. It's pictured next to my minivan... it sits pretty low now!

Goals for this project:
20+mpg
One vehicle to haul band equipment and sleep 4+ people - Furnace only
No sink/stove/bathroom
Towing option to pull existing equipment trailer and expand sleeping capacity to 6
Cheap build on a musician's salary
Reuse as much of the original parts as possible
Safety of the passengers greater than the original motorhome

How I'll do it:
Weight reduction (removed 1100#'s already with walls, roof, cabinets. Not including appliances, estimated weight is 250#'s)

Lower air dam.

Lower roof - about 20" or so shorter than factor.

Drag reduction with no outside vents, awnings, etc.

Rear folding boat tail made from aluminum beds from another camper. This will look like most big rigs have on the back of them now.

Rear fender skirts.

Electric fan conversion from belt driven.

Power steering to manual steering mod if reasonable (so far the steering is very light without modding and engine off)

Consider removing AC if it's leaking badly.

Alternator shut off switch.

LED headlight conversion.