Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > DIY / How-to
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2009, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: zeist,utrecht,netherlands
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Electric motor overheating

Hi,

I'm converting a three wheeled freight moped to electric drive but I'm running in to an unforseen problem. The quite sturdy (and ancient) motor is overheating.

Yesterday I was doing a test drive out in the woods (using the bicyclelanes mostly) when I noticed smoke coming from the motor. The engine casing was really hot !

I was testing the new trojan T105's I got cheaply (still doubting it was a good buy) and the new cables I made. That was okay, the cables didn't get hot (like a few days ago, melted one )

I just don't understand where the heat come's from. I'm using a bosch brushed motor dc 1,8 kw 150 amp 24 volt and a sevcon pmw controller 24 Volt / 200 amp and off course 4x6v T-105

On this page you'll find some old pic's from some months ago: Bakbrommer :: View topic - Foto's electro bak

I've been thinking it might be the ratio of the gear/cogs (I'm not sure of the proper word) because that's 16 front (motor) and 41 back (rearwheel).

I think my question is if an electric motor can't get to it's max. rpm (i.e. 2000 in this case) does it keep on trying? And sucking up amps which cause al the heat ?

TIA

Amro

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 07-22-2009, 02:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
DieselMiser
 
ConnClark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Richland,WA
Posts: 966

Das Schlepper Frog - '85 Mercedes Benz 300SD
90 day: 23.23 mpg (US)

Gentoo320 - '04 Mercedes C320 4Matic
90 day: 22.44 mpg (US)
Thanks: 46
Thanked 227 Times in 156 Posts
Is your voltage level dropping much when the motor is running? (Electric motors get hot when operated at too low of a voltage)
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 12:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Bicycle Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N. Saskatchewan, CA
Posts: 1,596

Appliance White - '93 Geo Metro 4-Dr. Auto
Last 3: 42.35 mpg (US)

Stealth RV - '91 Chevy Sprint Base
Thanks: 76
Thanked 344 Times in 242 Posts
Yes, when a simple DC motor is overloaded for torque, it heats up. It gets more current and less cooling. Check your amperage?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 10:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Ryland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 3,904

honda cb125 - '74 Honda CB 125 S1
90 day: 79.71 mpg (US)

green wedge - '81 Commuter Vehicles Inc. Commuti-Car

Blue VX - '93 Honda Civic VX
Thanks: 867
Thanked 433 Times in 353 Posts
what is the motor out of? how long is it designed to run for? if it was a starter motor or something of that sort that was designed to run for 15 seconds then I would say that you picked the wrong motor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 04:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: zeist,utrecht,netherlands
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi, thanks for thinking with me.

I only have an analogue amp gauge. That goes till 150 amps. I've read that those T105's can sustain 300 amps for 15 min's and I know the PMW-controller switches itself out of the loop after being asked for the max. amp. for more then 2 or 3 seconds.

The voltage drops to 21 volts when driving away and then when cruising at max. speed creeps back up again to 23 volts.

The motor is from a Spijkstaal electric lorrypuller (like a locomotive but smaller with out the rails) and could originally move 4000 kg's. So, it's made to run all day but at slower speeds (15 km max.)

The originall ratio was 11/60 with the 60 tooth sprocket/cog(?) on a 12 inch wheel.
You must excuse me, my technical english is not that good

Does the ampmeter go between the controller and the ground of the motor ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 12:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Bicycle Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: N. Saskatchewan, CA
Posts: 1,596

Appliance White - '93 Geo Metro 4-Dr. Auto
Last 3: 42.35 mpg (US)

Stealth RV - '91 Chevy Sprint Base
Thanks: 76
Thanked 344 Times in 242 Posts
The ampmeter could go between the contoller and the motor, or between the motor and the ground.

Perhaps your motor insulation is failing. Once the magic smoke starts to get out of any electrical device, it is like seeing water trickling through a dike - there might be a lot more of it soon.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric car conversion: Project ForkenSwift MetroMPG Fossil Fuel Free 1041 07-28-2014 09:19 AM
“Revenge of the Electric Car” Coming in 2009 SVOboy EcoModder Blog Discussion 18 03-28-2012 07:24 PM
Milwaukee Electric Car Club (Running EVent!) bennelson Events & Meet-ups 18 10-17-2011 11:04 AM
100 mile range Ranger EV? Frank Lee Fossil Fuel Free 10 08-05-2010 12:09 PM
Article: Electric Subaru Due in 2009, One Year Early MetroMPG Fossil Fuel Free 8 08-29-2009 12:19 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com