Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2012, 04:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indiana, US
Posts: 133

TheCav - '04 Chevy Cavalier LS
Thanks: 13
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
My car is stick. Any way to manually tap into the DFCO? It will be much alter when I start my mods but I like to have everything planned out perfect and think everything through before I try it.

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 11-02-2012, 06:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,141

Impala FFV - '10 Chevy Impala LT
90 day: 29.54 mpg (US)

XFE Coupe - '09 Chevy Cobalt XFE
Team Chevy
90 day: 37.71 mpg (US)

Penny's Rogue - '15 Nissan Rogue SL AWD
90 day: 29 mpg (US)

Cam's Rogue - '11 Nissan Rogue SV AWD
90 day: 28 mpg (US)

Elantra - '17 Hyundia Elantra SE
Team Hyundai
90 day: 3.39 mpg (US)

Cruze Limited - '16 Chevy Cruze Limited LT
90 day: 38 mpg (US)
Thanks: 277
Thanked 217 Times in 184 Posts
I'm surprized the Grand Am doesn't have DFCO, my 03 Malibu and 98 Stratus do, but to get them to activate I need to manually downshift the auto's and have strong engine braking, fairly high RPM. Useless without big hills where you want engine braking to control max. speed.

DFCO in the Cobalt does me no good, I don't have hills steep and long enough to not slow down if I leave it in gear, and I think engine RPM has be above 1800 or so, so it seems to quit around 50 mph. I only messed with watching it one day and SGII in other car now so memory could be off alittle.

The other issue with trying to get it to DFCO, idle consumption is 0.3 gph, in gear coasting when DFCO isn't working is 0.5 gph and I'm loosing speed. Even when a hill is big enough and speed high enough, it takes about 5 seconds before it cuts the fuel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Dirty330 Modder
 
Gealii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East Ohio, USA
Posts: 642

CruzeRS - '15 Chevy Cruze LT RS
90 day: 41.29 mpg (US)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 67 Times in 59 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by roosterk0031 View Post
I'm surprized the Grand Am doesn't have DFCO, my 03 Malibu and 98 Stratus do, but to get them to activate I need to manually downshift the auto's and have strong engine braking, fairly high RPM. Useless without big hills where you want engine braking to control max. speed.

DFCO in the Cobalt does me no good, I don't have hills steep and long enough to not slow down if I leave it in gear, and I think engine RPM has be above 1800 or so, so it seems to quit around 50 mph. I only messed with watching it one day and SGII in other car now so memory could be off alittle.

The other issue with trying to get it to DFCO, idle consumption is 0.3 gph, in gear coasting when DFCO isn't working is 0.5 gph and I'm loosing speed. Even when a hill is big enough and speed high enough, it takes about 5 seconds before it cuts the fuel.
The grand am might have DFCO, but driving in any condition i've done so far with it i have not been able to reach DFCO. It might be like your cobalt where it has to be a certain circumstance to reach DFCO, but on any of the hills i go down im doing 55-60mph
__________________



"The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing."
- Henry Ford
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Dirty330 Modder
 
Gealii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East Ohio, USA
Posts: 642

CruzeRS - '15 Chevy Cruze LT RS
90 day: 41.29 mpg (US)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 67 Times in 59 Posts
well i was just randomly reading through other threads and found out why my UG wasn't showing dfco i had to set the injector cutoff to 2.2*7 then round up to 16. I forgot to change this til i had only 2 glides left on my route today and from 60-43mph i was in DFCO. then under 43 must be when it kicks out so this is at least nice to know that it was my fault for not setting up the gauge correctly
__________________



"The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing."
- Henry Ford
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
5speed5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Alamos, NM
Posts: 134

TBSS - '08 Chevrolet Trailblazer SS 2WD
90 day: 19.36 mpg (US)

Wife's car - '09 Chevrolet Impala SS
90 day: 22.96 mpg (US)

Big Blue Hippo - '06 Chevrolet HHR 2LT
90 day: 45.99 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 20 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gealii View Post
well i was just randomly reading through other threads and found out why my UG wasn't showing dfco i had to set the injector cutoff to 2.2*7 then round up to 16. I forgot to change this til i had only 2 glides left on my route today and from 60-43mph i was in DFCO. then under 43 must be when it kicks out so this is at least nice to know that it was my fault for not setting up the gauge correctly
Interesting. So is that for the Grand Am or the Escort?
__________________
Daily driver:
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:13 PM   #16 (permalink)
The Dirty330 Modder
 
Gealii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North East Ohio, USA
Posts: 642

CruzeRS - '15 Chevy Cruze LT RS
90 day: 41.29 mpg (US)
Thanks: 10
Thanked 67 Times in 59 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5speed5 View Post
Interesting. So is that for the Grand Am or the Escort?
Grand am, i don't ecodrive the escort anymore and don't plan on it until something catastrophic happens to the GA and praying that nothing does happen.

__________________



"The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing."
- Henry Ford
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com