Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2009, 01:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ex-lurker
 
i_am_socket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 571

Skeeter - '05 Toyota Corolla LE
90 day: 35.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
*UPDATE*

Ok, so 3 months later I have a replacement LCD (went with the blue), headers (got 4 sets of extras), and new tactile buttons (much taller).

I'm probably going to redo my enclosure (new screen is slightly larger) and actually make the buttons accessible without opening it this time (duh).

What I'd like to do is move the buttons to the top of the enclosure (standard Rat Shack project box). Anybody else do this with the original kit? Any advice on how to mount the buttons on/through the top of the project box?

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 06-18-2009, 08:21 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ex-lurker
 
i_am_socket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 571

Skeeter - '05 Toyota Corolla LE
90 day: 35.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Finally got the screen installed last night (what a pain in the @$$) and low and behold, my calibration data was still in there! Huzzah!



I've got an idea for remoting the buttons to the top of my enclosure, but I'll need to wait until I pick up some more wire and a small breadboard.

*edit*
And here's a pic of it back in it's rightful place
__________________

Last edited by i_am_socket; 06-18-2009 at 10:41 AM..
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 08:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
McTimson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nyack, NY
Posts: 309

BMW - '97 BMW 318ti
Team BMW
90 day: 32.45 mpg (US)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
On the first MPGuino I made, I had wires running out for the switches, and I had the switches superglued to a piece of plastic. They held great, the rest of the board was a mess though, and I ended up getting a kit version to keep it clean, so I didn't need the switches.

I would just drill small holes in the top (enough for the button part to stick through), and glue the square part to the top of the box. Superglue, or hot glue should work fine for it. Then, just connect the wires from the switch to wherever they went on the MPGuino.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 10:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ex-lurker
 
i_am_socket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Jersey
Posts: 571

Skeeter - '05 Toyota Corolla LE
90 day: 35.55 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
That's the idea I was going for; I got extra tall buttons just for that reason. I'm hoping to be able to screw a breadboard in place instead of glue just so the unit is easily removable from the enclosure. The tough part will be getting the wires to the kit; I have the original kit version that has the USB port on the flip side of the board from the buttons.

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plug Wires Fried RH77 Off-Topic Tech 5 03-05-2009 11:33 PM
Yet Another Guino Help Thread i_am_socket OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 40 01-06-2009 01:40 PM
Testing your guino build dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 3 09-15-2008 06:54 PM
small form factor guino dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 9 09-01-2008 07:56 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com