Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-29-2012, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

Dumb question?

Sorry if this is a dumb question - I'm new to this... but I was just wondering if, rather than extending the back of the car using a Kammback arrangement, anyone has tried modifying the shape of the car by adding a raised and curved roof?

ie if I have a flat topped station wagon, if I could somehow raise and reshape the roof to make it better fit the teardrop template, could the increase in frontal-area be compensated-for by the more aerodynamic shape..?

Has anyone tried anything like this or is it a non-starter? Just wondering!

Another question: My Golf estate, on a particular downslope will take 35 seconds to slow (when put into neutral) from 50mph to 40mph.

My much lighter and shorter Perodua (Daihatsu Mira) will, under the same conditions, slow down in 14 seconds.

I wonder how much of that is because of the greater mass of the station wagon, or could it be that the wagon has that much better aerodynamics?

(There basic shape is not that much different really)

TIA!

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 02-29-2012, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

The Q Sold - '02 Infiniti Q45 Sport
90 day: 23.08 mpg (US)

blackie - '14 nissan altima sv
Welcome!

there is a thread in the last 2 weeks about adding to a roofline.
Might look for that.

ECO MODS PERFORMED:
First: ScangaugeII
http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...eii-23306.html

Second: Grille Block
http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...e-10912-2.html

Third: Full underbelly pan
http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...q45-11402.html

Fourth: rear skirts and 30.4mpg on trip!
http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...tml#post247938
Old 02-29-2012, 09:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Boo Radley - '65 Ford F100
90 day: 13.28 mpg (US)