Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2009, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
24.27 lbs per gallon Co2
 
Oval_Overload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 217

Unicorn - '12 Nissan Versa 1.8S hatch
90 day: 31.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
I bunged up my MPGuino >.<

I was all set to make a video about how to install the 'Guino in a Taurus. Then mine started acting funny. It would repeatedly reboot, then it started freezing, and then it completely quit working (while I was showing it off to my geek friends, no less). I discovered the solder connections on the yellow capacitor and the tan ceramic capacitor (between the USB and ATMega chips) were bad. I fixed the connections, but the MPGuino still does absolutely nothing when plugged in. System Profiler does, however, recognize when the MPGunio is plugged into my Macintosh.

Did I fry my ATMega? Could I have toasted the tan ceramic capacitor when re-soldering?

Any help is appreciated.

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 02-22-2009, 08:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
Posts: 13

zed sled - '74 Datsun 260Z turbo/MSefi

Franklin - '98 Subaru Forester
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to myplasticegg
similar problem but all of the joints look good... It was VERY warm when it was acting up.
Grateful for any help, Shane
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2009, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 157
Thanked 266 Times in 209 Posts
spiffed doesn't check in here much AFAICT, you might ping him at the address in this thread if you are having problems with the kit:
http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...html#post88735
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
24.27 lbs per gallon Co2
 
Oval_Overload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 217

Unicorn - '12 Nissan Versa 1.8S hatch
90 day: 31.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Plastic egg, sounds like you have a short somewhere.

I re-flashed the MPGunio code to the chip, and the thing worked fine for 2 days, then crashed again. The Arduino program gives an error message whenever i try to re-flash the program. I built a second MPGunio, and it has done the exact same thing. *sigh*
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 157
Thanked 266 Times in 209 Posts
You are using solid power from the battery and not ignition power?
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 12:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
24.27 lbs per gallon Co2
 
Oval_Overload's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 217

Unicorn - '12 Nissan Versa 1.8S hatch
90 day: 31.9 mpg (US)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
I took a power tap off the fuse box after I verified it's always-on status with a multimeter. I might have to make a more resilient connection.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by myplasticegg View Post
It was VERY warm when it was acting up.
It would help to know what was warm.
  • If the regulator is getting warm, you've got a short to ground somewhere.
  • If the ATmega168 is getting warm, you've got current running through the rail clamp diode arrays.
    • Check that none of the inputs drop below ground and add a diode if they do!
    • Check that the two Zener diodes are soldered correctly and in the correct orientation
    • measure the input at each terminal and look for voltages above 5.1v or below ground
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 06:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oval_Overload View Post
Did I fry my ATmega? Could I have toasted the tan ceramic capacitor when re-soldering?
The yellow 'lytics are particularly prone to damage, this usually results in a short to ground. Since the FT232 detects correctly, we know the ground plane is OK.

The ceramic cap between the FT232 and the ATmega is the 3.3v output from the FT232. The USB section plain won't work if it's damaged in a bad way.

Have you tried uploading new firmware to the chip using the arduino software?

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPGuino release one workspace dcb OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 1060 09-27-2016 10:56 PM
Just some quick info on Scangauge vs. MPGuino NoCO2 OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 4 06-01-2015 04:58 PM
Modding the MPGuino ac7ss OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 7 02-18-2013 02:55 PM
MPGuino installation/setup: 1998 Geo Metro (Pontiac Firefly) MetroMPG OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 12 10-11-2009 03:29 PM
Restricted fuel system affect mpguino readings? wagonman76 OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer 1 09-09-2008 01:34 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com