Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-27-2016, 10:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Charlottesville Va.
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
MacDaddy (jdm 1.3 engine swap in my 1999 honda civic)

I put a jdm 1.3 engine in my 1999 honda civic hatchback, hoping to get the promised 50 t0 60 mpg. After my first tank of gas, I only got 28 mpg. The folks that sold me the engine said I should use the Throtle body off the 1.6 from the old engine. Any thoughts, or ideas about this disappointment?

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 01-27-2016, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 11,127

CM400E - '81 Honda CM400E
90 day: 51.49 mpg (US)

Daox's Grey Prius - '04 Toyota Prius
Team Toyota
90 day: 49.53 mpg (US)

Daox's Insight - '00 Honda Insight
90 day: 64.33 mpg (US)

Swarthy - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage DE
Mitsubishi
90 day: 56.69 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2,443
Thanked 2,490 Times in 1,502 Posts
Welcome to the site Mac Daddy.

Do you have all the wiring and ecu for the 1.3? I'd imagine you would want to use the throttle body from the 1.3 vs 1.6. I am no Honda expert though.
__________________
Current project: A better alternator delete
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Charlottesville Va.
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mac Daddy

Thanks for your response, Because the sensors and ecu are different in Japan, I was told to use the harness and ecu from my 1.6 and that it would run fine. I did make one change, I took the crank position sensor from the 1.6 and put it on the 1.3 in order to keep from having to rump the pins for this sensor in the ecu.
The engine runs well and I can't even tell a difference in the power between the two engines.
I'm not sure if the 1.3 throttle body will work on the intake manifold of the 1.6,
I was told I had to use the 1.6 manifold because of US polution sensors, there seems to be some difference between the two bases although either one will fit on the 1.6 manifold.
I'm wondering if the winter gas formula would make a lot of difference, I always notice a difference in the winter mpg but not that much, I normally get 35 to 37 mpg not 28.
What if I try higher octane gas?

Mac
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2016, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Batman Junior
 
MetroMPG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1000 Islands, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 21,710

Blackfly - '98 Geo Metro
Team Metro
Last 3: 70.09 mpg (US)

MPGiata - '90 Mazda Miata
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)

Winter beater Metro - '00 Chevrolet Metro
90 day: 61.98 mpg (US)

Fancy Metro - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage top spec
90 day: 58.72 mpg (US)

Even Fancier Metro - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage top spec
90 day: 66.29 mpg (US)
Thanks: 3,442
Thanked 6,264 Times in 3,238 Posts
Any more progress on sorting this out?

It's not likely the gas. There's slightly less energy density in the winter blend. Not nearly enough to account for the difference you saw.

Given you dropped from 35-37 to 28, there's something else going on.
__________________
Latest mods: 3-cylinder Mitsubishi Mirage. EcoMods now in progress...
Ecodriving test:
Manual vs. automatic transmission MPG showdown



EcoModder
has launched a forum for the efficient new Mitsubishi Mirage
www.MetroMPG.com - fuel efficiency info for Geo Metro owners
www.ForkenSwift.com - electric car conversion on a beer budget
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 07:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,555

Volt, gas only - '12 Chevrolet Volt Premium
90 day: 38.02 mpg (US)

Volt, electric only - '12 Chevrolet Volt Premium
90 day: 132.26 mpg (US)

Yukon Denali Hybrid - '12 GMC Yukon Denali Hybrid
90 day: 21.48 mpg (US)
Thanks: 168
Thanked 343 Times in 238 Posts
I don't have experience with hondas, but it may take a couple tanks for the ecu to learn the new operating conditions. The ecu doesn't know what size the engine is.
__________________




  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Jacktuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Maine
Posts: 14

Rafiki - '92 Honda Civic hatchback Dx
90 day: 49.67 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 3 Posts
You will definitely need that Ecu from the 1.3 car. Otherwise you'll be lucky to get any gains.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 10:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Jacktuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Maine
Posts: 14

Rafiki - '92 Honda Civic hatchback Dx
90 day: 49.67 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 3 Posts
Higher octane won't help either. Unless your detonating but I doubt it.
You need the complete intake and Ecu from the 1.3 to get the mileage that the 1.3 is rated for.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com