Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2014, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Portugal
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
mpguino & arduino mega 2560

Hi there,

I have an arduino mega 2560 laying around.

I was looking at the source code for mpguino and saw that there are two files, a .PDE and a .CPP. The PDE file says that mpguino has moved outside of arduino, what does that mean?

If it means that basically the .PDE is outdated and the .CPP is more recent, how can I compile the CPP for arduino mega 2560?

Your help would be much appreciated

Thanks
Tiago

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-21-2014, 04:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Administrator
 
Daox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Germantown, WI
Posts: 11,175

CM400E - '81 Honda CM400E
90 day: 51.49 mpg (US)

Daox's Grey Prius - '04 Toyota Prius
Team Toyota
90 day: 49.53 mpg (US)

Daox's Insight - '00 Honda Insight
90 day: 64.33 mpg (US)

Swarthy - '14 Mitsubishi Mirage DE
Mitsubishi
90 day: 56.69 mpg (US)
Thanks: 2,474
Thanked 2,538 Times in 1,530 Posts
The arduino uses the atmega chips. The atmega chips can be programmed via the Arduino IDE, or via AVR studio which is a bit more nitty gritty. The Arduino IDE makes it easier for beginners and it also makes it quicker to do simple tasks. You can combine the some AVR coding with the Arduino IDE, to what extent I'm not sure. This is what was done with the MPGuino code.
__________________
Current project: A better alternator delete
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2014, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
MPGuino Supporter
 
t vago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,766

The Karen-Mobile - '05 Dodge Magnum SXT
Team Dodge
90 day: 26.72 mpg (US)

Fiat Dakota - '00 Dodge Dakota SLT RWD Quad Cab
90 day: 16.67 mpg (US)

The Red Sled - '01 Dodge Durango SLT 4WD
90 day: 16.96 mpg (US)
Thanks: 799
Thanked 682 Times in 437 Posts
I pretty much re-wrote the MPGuino code. My code supports the Arduino Mega 2560. It can be found here -> http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...ead-26469.html
__________________
The Fiat Dakota


The Karen-mobile


The Red Sled
  Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to t vago For This Useful Post:
Daox (08-24-2014), Felar (08-23-2014), jeff88 (08-21-2014), Xist (08-23-2014)
Old 08-23-2014, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 197
Thanks: 93
Thanked 69 Times in 64 Posts
Olá Santos
Utiliza a versão do t vago, que funciona bastante bem e esta operacional para o Arduino Mega 2560, as outras versões não funcionam com essa placa.

Hello Santos
Uses the version of t vago that works quite well and is operational for the Arduino Mega 2560, other versions do not work with this board.

José Rodrigues

Last edited by josemapiro; 08-24-2014 at 11:12 AM..
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to josemapiro For This Useful Post:
t vago (08-25-2014)
Old 09-04-2014, 10:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Portugal
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
hi,

i've been busy for the last few weeks, and i hope to get some time to investigate further about mpguino.

Thanks @t vago for the 2560 mpguino code, and also @josemapiro for the suggestion, i'll look into it.

I still have to read more about the connections, and buy an LCD and some buttons.

Tiago
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 04:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 197
Thanks: 93
Thanked 69 Times in 64 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvcsantos View Post
hi,
I still have to read more about the connections, and buy an LCD and some buttons.

Tiago
Olá Tiago
Em relação aos botões, podes utilizar um sistema com 3 botões, ou 1 botão de 5 posições, que são ambos apoiados no codigo, só tens que definir qual vais usar. Tens a descrição destes dois sistemas no post do t vago, vê qual é o mais adequado para ti.

Hi Tiago
Regarding the buttons, you can use a system with 3 buttons, or 1 button 5 positions, which are both supported in the code, you just have to define what you will be using. Have the description of these two systems in the post of the t vago, see which is right for you.

José Rodrigues

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com