Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2011, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Need help. MPGuino GPH jumps around.

I built an MPGuino and I'm having some problems with it.

I got everything working fine except that when I put it in the car the GPH is all over the place. It will bounce to 0.07 to 10.00 or more. Any ideas on what would cause this?

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 11-25-2011, 05:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
loose/shorting connection? Wrong connection/circuit? You tried to install it on a lear jet?

what value resistors did you use next to the zeners? And did you use 5 volt zeners?
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
All secure connections. All hooked into the correct location. Tried Honda Civic VX ( intended car ) and my Honda Insight.

I tried both 50k and 100k resistors. Both zener diodes are 5.1v.

I've also even changed out the Arduino board but get the same result.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
Dunno, there is a 94 VX that someone added to the table of car settings, so the circuit and program as described should work. What cpu do you have on your duino?

MPGuino - EcoModder
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Using an Arduino Duemilanove (clone) which uses the ATmega328 running at 16mhz.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
what version of arduino? What source code (link)? What schematic (link)?
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Using version 0022 of the software. Tried using the stock 0.75 version of the MPGuino source that is on the wiki and I also intergrated the save data code in a seprate source. Both give same results. I'm using the arduino schmatic that is on the wiki.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'll try to post the serial data later tonight. I have not looked at it when in the car. Maybe it will tell us somthing.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
you might try the cpp file instead, and without making any modifications first.
http://opengauge.googlecode.com/svn/...no/mpguino.cpp I only tried it once from arduino. You might also try version 11 of arduino like the pde file says.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
With the cpp file wont I have to program it with the ISP header? Never done that before. I think I have the nessary equipment to make the cable if needed.

I'll try version 11. I thought it was just so it could fit on the atmega128. I'll try anyway.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com