Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2011, 02:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 267 Times in 210 Posts
I dunno, some folks have loaded the cpp file into arduino and it just worked IIRC. The cpp is the only one being maintained, and isn't guaranteed to work with arduino though.

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 11-25-2011, 02:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
OK. I'll give it all a try and report back.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 01:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
msc
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: S. E. Michigan
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I think your injector signal may not be going low enough to be consistently recognized as a low by the MPU. When looking at signal levels on my 91 CRX HF the signal was only dropping to about 1 volt for low which the MPU logic levels still register as a high.

Try adding a resistor in parallel with the Zener diode to create an input voltage divider. Try a resistor of about 1/4 the value of the input series resistor.

Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 06:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Sorry about not getting back with the serial output sooner. Had other project to finish.

Anyway here is a snapshot of the serial output during idle.

Code:
000.00,000.00,063832,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,066376,007.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013104,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013156,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013040,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,063940,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,064160,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013508,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,112796,007.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013240,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,065672,007.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,162256,008.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,063300,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013192,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,063472,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013228,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013012,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,063804,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,015748,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013136,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013240,005.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,064008,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,063984,006.00,000.00

000.00,000.00,013100,005.00,000.00

MSC did you build yours or did you buy one? Your explanation does make sense. I hope thats whats going on with mine. It will be an easy fix if thats the issue. It cant hurt to try so I will try it and hope to report back by this weekend.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 06:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
The voltage derider did not help. The GPH is still fluctuating. I just dont get it. Its built to spec.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 12:26 AM   #16 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: terra firma
Posts: 138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
My 95 civic has 100k ohms on the injector input, 5k on the VSS. Aside from your jumping value problem, 0.07gph is probably too low; at idle it should run 0.14-0.20, depending on engine temp.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 05:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wheelersburg, Ohio
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well I think I may have found the issue. I swapped out the atmega328 chip with a spare. It now has a steady GPH reading and iMPG reading. I'm hoping that the chip was just damaged from a previous failure and not because of the injector pulses.

As far as the numbers go thats a non issue. Those numbers came from my Insight and I was playing around with the settings. The Civic owner has put in the correct values for his car and so far its working fine. 58MPG on one of his trips the other day I think he said.

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com