Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2009, 09:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Cd
Ultimate Fail
 
Cd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin,Texas
Posts: 3,292
Thanks: 2,592
Thanked 895 Times in 535 Posts
Blue Bomber Man, you are of course aware of all of the free open-source CFD software out there aren't you ? "thumbs-up"

( I'm not good with math, so I just do 3D modeling.)

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 03-18-2009, 04:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 190

GreenMile - '00 Mazda Protege ES
90 day: 34.45 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Actually I am not aware of any program that will take a 3d cad program file and do a CFD analysis, but I would love to learn of some, thanks!
__________________
http://benw385.vox.com/
'Blog' on the open source electric motorcycle project.

Please come visit and comment!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 10:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Left Lane Ecodriver
 
RobertSmalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 2,257

Prius C - '12 Toyota Prius C
Thanks: 79
Thanked 284 Times in 197 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cd View Post
Blue Bomber Man, you are of course aware of all of the free open-source CFD software out there aren't you ? "thumbs-up"

( I'm not good with math, so I just do 3D modeling.)
Yes, do tell us about the free CFD software. I've been utterly unable to find any.

I whipped up the attached in SolidWorks today. It needs fewer lines and more radiused edges, and then there are aerodynamically important complexities such as a radiator, suspension, &c. Without a radiator and a full engine bay, how will I know whether to build a variable-geometry grille?

I don't have FlowWorks, but I would love to run several models through the CFD analysis: the attached model, three with nose-cones of three different heights, and one with a boat-tail. That would determine how effective these aero add-ons would be, and whether to try to send air over the car or under it.

I'd be happy to make my .SLDPRT files available in the public domain. Anyone know of a good, free .SLDPRT of an engine, radiator, or maybe even a sophisticated model of a car?

RobertSmalls
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SolidWorks Model.png
Views:	46
Size:	14.1 KB
ID:	3056  
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 11:25 PM   #14 (permalink)
Cd
Ultimate Fail
 
Cd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Austin,Texas
Posts: 3,292
Thanks: 2,592
Thanked 895 Times in 535 Posts
Robert,. have you Googled "open source CFD software" ?
There is quite a selection .
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 11:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Left Lane Ecodriver
 
RobertSmalls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY, USA
Posts: 2,257

Prius C - '12 Toyota Prius C
Thanks: 79
Thanked 284 Times in 197 Posts
Hmm, I see that there is. Can anyone recommend an easy-to-use one that I can feed a SolidWorks or Pro/E CAD drawing into?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 05:40 AM   #16 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by big_dave View Post
I've got solidworks and floworks, I'll do the calculations if you want.

I should add I am a beginner, so if you let me know exactly what you need doing I'll be happy to give it a go.
Dave do you still have access to flowworks, I have an autocad of my car and would like to know how it performs in flowworks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 07:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
EcoPikey Modder
 
big_dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow (UK)
Posts: 14

Kunnt 1 - '04 Smart ForTwo Custom

Burner - '09 Kia Soul Burner
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to big_dave
If you can create a 3D model in Solidworks from your Autocad then I'll see if I can run it through the analysis. It's been a while since I used it
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Munich
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by big_dave View Post
If you can create a 3D model in Solidworks from your Autocad then I'll see if I can run it through the analysis. It's been a while since I used it
Exactly. And nothing changed since you used it last time
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 07:21 AM   #19 (permalink)
EcoPikey Modder
 
big_dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow (UK)
Posts: 14

Kunnt 1 - '04 Smart ForTwo Custom

Burner - '09 Kia Soul Burner
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to big_dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whattodo View Post
Exactly. And nothing changed since you used it last time
Huh?

  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com