Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2009, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
button presser
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Adirondacks, NY
Posts: 20

TAVs Prius - '10 Toyota Prius IV
90 day: 50.86 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to vielecustoms Send a message via MSN to vielecustoms Send a message via Yahoo to vielecustoms
Noob scangauge questions

Well, to start I am just getting into ecomodding! I recently bought a scangauge 2 off ebay. and have been messing with that. which brings up a few questions.
my first question is after I fueled and went into the menu to do the fillup. set the fill up to 100% the scangauge MPG information drops considerably. my car will show that is getting between 11 to 20 mpg avg. if I reset it, put all the info in and do not touch the fill up option it shows 27 - 40 avg which is about right for my car. (02 dodge neon sohc)

my other question, and this may be caused by the above problem is when I drove and kept the mpg numbers high on the scangauge I had actually lost about 4 mpg at the next fill up.

__________________
  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 09-28-2009, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master EcoModder
 
Matt Herring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Andover, MA
Posts: 857

Bone's 2010 Prius - '10 Toyota Prius Black
90 day: 56.78 mpg (US)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
After rereading your post I was confused by what you meant when saying "set the fill up to 100%." When updating your SGII you should be updating your gallon fill total by actual gallons and not by percent filled.

Example: Using the side buttons to adjust the fill amount to 10.2 gallons if that's what you put in the tank. Not adjusting the percent numbers to 100% if you completely filled the tank.

The calibration of your scanguage is a work in progress before your first fill up. Usually after a fill up or two you will have adjusted your gallon fill numbers enough to be close to your actual mpg (and when you fill up again and again you should not be far off from what the SGII screen says you filled up). There is a thread on this site where guys have posted their percent adjustment for specific vehicles which might help starting out if you want to do a search but once you have a couple fill ups you should be close to your actual fill mpg.

If you're still way off after a couple fill ups check your settings to make sure you have it set for the correct engine size, engine type, tank size, etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 07:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
button presser
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Adirondacks, NY
Posts: 20

TAVs Prius - '10 Toyota Prius IV
90 day: 50.86 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to vielecustoms Send a message via MSN to vielecustoms Send a message via Yahoo to vielecustoms
thanks for the help. I have the engine size, type and tank size set. I tried setting it to 10 gallons at the fill up and it read like 130% full and the mileage shown was single digit. when i only shown it filled to 100% full (at 5 or 6 gallons) the mpg was higher but still very low for my car. but i will continue to use it with what you have told me.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 02:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 56

White 4Runner - '98 Toyota 4Runner SR5
90 day: 23.21 mpg (US)

Grey Jetta TDI - '11 VW Jetta
90 day: 39.17 mpg (US)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
You probably already know this, but this is from the SG manual...

In order for the
TANK information to be useful, you must set the size of the fuel tank using MORE>SETUP>FUEL>TANK SIZE.

When you fill-up, you must use HOME>MORE>FILLUP>DONE to indicate the vehicle tank has been refilled.



__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ScanGauge Questions for a VW Diesel. Deezler Instrumentation 13 07-09-2010 07:42 PM
Dealer says ScanGauge ruined my PCM and I can't use ScanGauge anymore Markmysite EcoModding Central 55 05-06-2010 06:31 AM
Noob with a couple of questions 92hybrid EcoModding Central 2 08-18-2008 12:57 PM
just got my SGII (ScanGauge II) few questions for the collective.. Chris D. Instrumentation 27 04-22-2008 07:38 PM
NOOB: My Scangauge is way off suddenly. hondaworkshop Instrumentation 3 02-16-2008 11:12 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com