Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation > OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer
Register Now
 Register Now
 

Reply  Post New Thread
 
Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 03:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: terra firma
Posts: 138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
OK to change I/O pins ?

Was there a reason for putting the Injector input on, specifically, Digital 2 & 3? I'm thinking it would make more sense to put them on Dig 15 & 16 (aka Analog 1 & 2), so that all inputs are clustered together, and the top row can be pretty much dedicated to the LCD.

Can anyone foresee any problems with this move, other than me having to mod the source with each rev? Is there an actual, physical difference between the "Digital" and "Analog" input lines?

Aside from that, I'd also like to rearrange a couple LCD wires that criss-cross.

  Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

   
Old 08-25-2009, 08:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
2 and 3 are the external interrupt pins, they are special because they can differentiate between a rising signal and a falling signal. So essentially one pin fires a tiny bit of code when the injector opens and one the other one fires a tiny bit of code when it closes.

This eliminates any guesswork in the interrupt.

The LCD wires were chosen because they were convenient for standard arduino layout and left some multi purpose pins open. Will probably change in the prebuilt code someday.
__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dcb For This Useful Post:
nickdigger (08-25-2009)
Old 08-25-2009, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: terra firma
Posts: 138
Thanks: 4
Thanked 24 Times in 22 Posts
Thanks for the explanation. Guess i'll just leave well enough alone.

wrt the LCD, were you trying to leave the PWM pins open? That i can understand, but Dig 4,5,6 connect to LCD 4,6,3. D 4,5,6 --> L 3,4,6 looks cleaner ... unless there is another special signalling issue that forced this arrangement.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell
 
dcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 5,038

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
Thanks: 158
Thanked 269 Times in 212 Posts
one of them got crossed when I realized I could control contrast via pwm, that may be what you are seeing.

__________________
WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply  Post New Thread


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Cali Civic VX to Fed (lean burn) VX NachtRitter DIY / How-to 83 06-20-2015 11:30 AM
Oil change guys under-inflated my tires Formula413 The Lounge 26 06-20-2010 08:46 PM
mods-data-% change or Cd change( installment#5-roofline data) aerohead Aerodynamics 3 09-26-2009 02:01 PM
change habits, change car landscaper52 EcoModding Central 3 07-12-2009 08:29 AM
Article: CAFE Change Looks Likely SVOboy General Efficiency Discussion 0 12-05-2007 12:24 PM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2
All content copyright EcoModder.com