Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Motorcycles / Scooters
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2011, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

P&G on a bike? How?

I'm new at this. If I understand correctly, pulse & glide means accelerating to a certain speed, turning off the engine, putting the gearbox in neutral and coasting down to a lower speed, then going into gear again and bumpstarting the engine.

Also there are other things like coasting down hills with the engine off.

How is that done with a bike, with the sequential gearbox? People aren't really getting into neutral are they? But if they are just pulling the clutch in, leaving it in gear, isn't there a lot of drag with the wet clutch and engaged gears?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 08-06-2011, 04:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
dcb
needs more cowbell

pimp mobile - '81 suzuki gs 250 t
90 day: 96.29 mpg (US)

schnitzel - '01 Volkswagen Golf TDI
90 day: 53.56 mpg (US)
I just use the clutch. I tried clanging down to neutral and there isn't much difference in coasting. You might be able to add more neutral detents if you are so inclined. The tranny doesn't like going through the lower gears at higher speeds, and there is less relative motion if you leave it in a higher gear.

Be aware that your tranny might not be getting full lubrication though. I haven't had a problem so far, but some guy with a high powered bike on a dyno apparently locked up his tranny on coasting engine off. He was able to fix it with minimal expense (another nice thing about bikes) but FYI.
Old 08-06-2011, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
EcoModding Apprentice

Woops, that's right! No oil pumping with the engine off. Well that kills it for me; I will leave my engine on for sure. Even idling, the oil pressure might not be high enough to protect the tranny bearings.
Old 08-06-2011, 05:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master EcoModder